Recent Searches

Dark Chronicles of York

Badge of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Dark Chronicles of York

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Saved to wishlist!
Live guided tour.
Alcoholic Beverages
The Old White Swan , 80 Goodramgate, York YO1 7LF, UK

The Chronicles begin on Goodramgate to be found just off the Kings Square, around the corner from the Hog Roast shop and near Nandos restaurant.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY British Routes Holidays
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Dark Chronicles of York?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Dark Chronicles of York.
What is the social distancing policy during Dark Chronicles of York?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Dark Chronicles of York.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Dark Chronicles of York?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Dark Chronicles of York.

Traveler Photos


33 Reviews
3 stars
2 stars

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-7 of 33 reviews
Fun start to the evening
, Oct 2021
This was money well spent! Really interesting and informative! Our tour guide Gemma, was full of facts and great fun, got everyone involved! Would recommend
Well worth it, great couple of hours
, Oct 2021
Great evening, very entertaining. Jemma was enthusiastic and very good at including everyone in the stories
Great history of York
, Oct 2021
The tour guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable delivering the history of York. He involved the whole group and respected the fact that young children were present. My son 13, really enjoyed the experience as did myself & partner.
Funny, creepy and interesting!
, Oct 2021
Enjoyable experience, tour guide was great. She was a good performer and was well-informed! Some creepy, unsettling stories that were really captivating, but the more upsetting tales were balanced by her jokes and fun demeanour during the more tongue-in-cheek tales. Great time!
Funny, quirky and totally worth it
, Oct 2021
Excellent tour, and if you are visiting york this should definitely be on you're list of things to do! Our host was great, and really made the tour come alive, we all were hanging on to every last word, as he explained just some of the history of York. Definitely worth the money, you won't be disappointed.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
We are pleased to know you enjoyed your time with us. Our tour is unique indeed and we are glad you went away with memories of Yorks darker side.
No show tour guide!! Poor communication
, Sep 2021
The guide did not show up we did not get any communication from Viator. Poor experience or should I say No experience!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Dear Sharon. As per our phone call made at 7pm, our guide had an accident 20 minutes prior to the start time of 6.45pm, and was unable to notify us from A&E straight away. We were unfortunately unable to supply a new guide at short notice. We apologise for the inconvenience and disappointment caused by this, and the offer in our email to you is available for you for us to show you the quality of the tours we offer. To ensure we are not in the same position again we are in the process of training more guides to ensure we can cover last minute, but as a new tour we are still training to meet our high standards. Please note Viator are only the ticket sellers, so for this we apologise for on this rare occasion of letting you down, as you can see by our other reviews, all 5*, we do usually hit the mark fro quality and customer service. We can only apologise for the events that led to us letting you down and hope you will try again in the future.
Enthusiastic guide
, Sep 2021
Knowledge of the guide, also arrived on time and the group wasn’t too large. This review keeps asking me to write more so I’m just filling up the box now
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for your review, and for putting up with Viators over enthusiastic review box! We are pleased you had a great time with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Explore Similar Things to Do