Recent Searches
Clear

Versailles Palace Skip-the-line Classic Guided Tour

star-4.5645 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Versailles, France
Versailles Palace Skip-the-line Classic Guided Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Visit the Palace of Versailles with skip-the-line admission, and avoid standing in the entrance queue before touring this royal chateau. On this 90-minute tour, follow a knowledgeable guide around the palace to see the King’s and Queen’s State Apartments and Hall of Mirrors. Then head outside independently to explore the expansive gardens at your leisure (note: an additional fee for the garden is required on days when the fountain show or musical show take place).
  • Skip-the-line admission to the Palace of Versailles with guided tour
  • Explore the chateau with a guide to learn about its royal inhabitants, from Louis XIV to Marie Antoinette
  • See the Hall of Mirrors and the State Apartments
  • Visit the gardens after the tour to walk around on your own (additional fee on certain days)
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Headsets to hear the guide clearly
Versailles Palace entrance with priority access
Meeting point in our local partner's store in Versailles
Transportation to/from attractions
Gardens tickets during Musical and Fountain Shows (from April to October)
Food and drinks
Gratuities
GetYourGuide Versailles , 10 Av. du Général de Gaulle, 78000 Versailles, France

Check in at GetYourGuide office, located near Café Madeleine, across the street from the train station Versailles Château Rive Gauche (RER line C). Do not go directly at the Palace of Versailles.

Palace of Versailles , Place d'Armes, 78000 Versailles, France
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • The time on your voucher is the meeting time at the agency (tour departs few minutes after). In case of late arrival for the check-in, you cannot join the tour and no refund or postponement will be made.
  • The skip-the-line access can be slowed down on peak days due to various safety controls established by the Versailles Palace
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Bring your own headphones if you have them; standard jack, not Bluetooth
  • Versailles Château Rive Gauche train station will be closed between July 15 - August 20, 2022. Instead, you will need to take a different route from Paris
  • There are two options with public transport: 1. Take a train to the station called "Versailles Rive Droite" (Take line L via Saint Lazare or La Défense) then it's a 25-minute walk to the GetYourGuide shop. 2. Take a train to the station called "Versailles Chantiers" (Take line N via Montparnasse or line U via La Défense) then it's a 15-minute walk to the GetYourGuide shop.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
  • OPERATED BY GetYourGuide
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Versailles Palace Skip-the-line Classic Guided Tour?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by Versailles Palace Skip-the-line Classic Guided Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Versailles Palace Skip-the-line Classic Guided Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Versailles Palace Skip-the-line Classic Guided Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Versailles Palace Skip-the-line Classic Guided Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Versailles Palace Skip-the-line Classic Guided Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It's not hard to get there on your own and meet up with the group." See review
  • "Also, Tuesday is a day when there are fountain shows in the gardens, and many people come to see those." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
645 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 645 reviews
star-5
The company was easy to...
Heidi_B
, Aug 2022
The company was easy to work with and helpful. Emily was great to have as a guide, and knowledgeable.
star-5
Beautiful visit
Caroline_C
, Aug 2022
Nils was a great guide and it was very informative. Glad we went with a guide as otherwise would have been walking through the palace not knowing what we were looking at. Beautiful palace and very worthwhile visit. Gardens are a must!!
star-5
Great value and...
Marianna_S
, Aug 2022
Great value and experience ! Friendly staff and amazing guide ! I would recommend this tour especially to save time waiting in lines to enter the palace
star-4
Versailles Tour
Alana_H
, Aug 2022
Versailles was beautiful! So pretty, definetly worth the trip out from Paris. Our guide Isabelle was good and she got us into the lines very quickly. We went on a Sunday afternoon in august, therefore very busy. I would recommend scheduling on a weekday rather than a weekend. Very busy inside the palace, but great to see!
star-1
Sardines!
Neil_T
, Aug 2022
Far too busy. Could not enjoy at all. Felt like a herd of jam packed sheep. Pushed and shoved the whole time. Avoid.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Family tour
Fianna_S
, Aug 2022
Sonia was lovely and very knowledgeable; we had a wonderful time. The skip the line ticket is worth every penny.
star-5
Barbara did a great job.
Tara_P
, Aug 2022
Barbara was a good tour guide. She kept everything moving, she balanced the time so we could see everything and understand, she kept high energy and seemed to enjoy the subject.
star-5
Great tour, just make mind how many people come in your tour group.
Mauricio_C
, Aug 2022
The experience was very nice. Guide was very friendly and did a great job of facilitating the tour. I would recommend the tour if you were looking to learn about the garden. My only feedback is that the maximum of people on the tour maybe a question. I know tours sell out, but at which point? We had over 10 people, which in a small narrow path setting is off. This isn’t visiting Versailles.. space is at a premium.
star-1
Tour guide got into a fight- terrible experience!
James_T
, Aug 2022
Our tour guide, Alessandro, did not seem that excited to be guiding a tour this day- very low energy. Then he got into an altercation with the entrance security guard and our group had to wait outside for 45 mins in the boiling sun while they sorted it out. Then the police were called and interrogated him during the tour while we stood around waiting. He couldn’t let it go for the sake of the guests on the tour- he just kept arguing and arguing. The WORST experience we’ve ever had and we’d like our money back. We’ve used Viator for other experiences and the tour guides were great— this one was terrible!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hello, Please accept all our apologizes for what happened that day. We want you to know that we don't accept this behaviour from ours guides and we take your feeback very seriously. You should have received the refund we asked a few days ago. Best regards, Vladina
star-5
My family and I...
Lauren_H
, Aug 2022
My family and I absolutely loved this tour! Isabelle was so knowledgeable, lovely and funny. We highly recommend this experience if you’re visiting the château
star-3
Versailles: over the top
Neil_F
, Aug 2022
The guided tour was ok but doing it yourself for 19 euros and a phone app or the one available at the palace would be better. To many people in palace to keep track of group. A few people got temporally lost.
star-5
Discovering the best of the Versailles palace with a tour guide
Ciprian_B
, Aug 2022
The experience was very well organized. We met with the guide and with the rest of the group on time and at the agreed meeting point. The guide provided us all with headsets and gave us a 1h 30min tour of the main rooms in the Palace of Versailles. Afterwards, my wife and I purchased additional tickets and visited the gardens and the Trianon domain on our own.
star-3
Too much time in the palace.
Meredith_N
, Aug 2022
The grounds are so beautiful, I wish we spent more time outside than in the palace. Our guide spoke too long inside each room. He lost our interest.
star-5
The guide Marion was...
Christine_Y
, Aug 2022
The guide Marion was excellent. The children enjoyed the stories and learned and remember the history of the palace
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Versailles is a once in a lifetime must see
Nancy_R
, Aug 2022
First time at Versailles...over the top glamour. Guide was not the best...bad back; thick Italian/French accent; not thorough and wandered off without assuring his group could follow...he didn't want to use the flag. Buy both the palace and garden package.
star-1
Great palace —poor guide
Brian_M
, Aug 2022
The palace is beautiful and the grounds are amazing, however our tour guide was sub par. He messed up the entry and got us held up with security for 45 minutes— waiting in the hot sun. Then led us on a rambled tour with no insights but personal biases. Half the tour left before it was half over. Company was amaZing but steer clear of the tour guide
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hello, We are very sorry for the experience you had with one of our tour guides. Be sure everything will be done to prevent this from happening again. We can assure you we are working on a partial refund. You will hear from us about that shortly. Please accept all ours apologies. Vladina
star-5
Our trip to Versailles
Vivian_R
, Aug 2022
Very friendly staff and knowledgeable guide. Nicholas at the check in desk was also very helpful. I would recommend it
star-5
Versailles tour and gardens should be seen
John_S
, Jul 2022
Tour of palace was led by Tundi who was very informative, kept the tour moving, and added to a wonderful experience by providing historical perspective to events and the architecture. The indoor tour should not be missed, but be sure to budget an additional couple hours for the gardens.
star-5
Versailles guided tour
SamanthaJessop
, Jul 2022
Laura was a great tour guide, very knowledgeable and humourous in her story telling about the Kings of Versailles. The tour was well organised and would definitely use the company again.
star-5
Versailles
Rebecca_F
, Jul 2022
Francesco was fabulous! He had a way of telling a story and using lots of comedy to keep you engaged and listening for more! We had technical difficulties so he had to speak loudly the whole time and did great!!!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Versailles Palace Skip-the-line Classic Guided Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Versailles Palace Skip-the-line Classic Guided Tour

star-4.5645

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$57.69

star-4.5363

2 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$78.66

star-4.532

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$62.54

star-25

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$65.40

star-536

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$92.63

star-4.53

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$72.37

star-4.52

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$68.17

star-00

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$74.07
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations