Recent Searches

Skip the line Pompeii Guided Tour from Sorrento

star-4.542 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Sorrento, Italy
Skip the line Pompeii Guided Tour from Sorrento

From $78.78

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon5 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more


Explore one of Italy's most evocative archaeological finds on a guided tour of Pompeii from Sorrento. Travel by bus to the UNESCO-listed site, where a licensed guide leads you around the ruins of an ancient Roman city buried by the eruption of Mt. Vesuvius. Marvel at excavated houses, marketplaces, baths, and frescoes remarkably preserved by ash, and learn about the civilization that once thrived here before the disaster.
  • Half-day tour to Pompeii from Sorrento
  • Visit the excavated ruins of an ancient city buried by volcanic ash
  • Learn the history of Pompeii and its discovery from a licensed guide
  • See the well-preserved remnants of homes, baths, bakeries, frescoes, and more
  • Hear about the fateful eruption of Mt. Vesuvius that destroyed the city
  • Includes round-trip transportation by bus
  • Declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site
Saved to wishlist!
Centrally located Meeting Point in Sorrento
Round trip transportation with air-conditioning vehicle
Official guide during the tour and live commentary on board
Skip The Line Access
Headphones for all passengers
Entry/Admission - Pompeii Archeological Site
Food and Drinks

Departure Point

Piazza Torquato Tasso, 16, 80067 Sorrento NA, Italy

Please meet our Guide by the entrance of "Gray Line - IAMME IA!" office located behind the statue of Torquato Tasso, nearby the Bar Fauno, next to the Fattoria Terranova shop. We suggest to arrive at meeting point 10 minutes prior to the departure.

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • IMPORTANT NOTE: From the 6th August to enter the ruins of Pompeii, as per law, it's required the Green Pass, so make sure to have all the documentation otherwise the access will be forbidden.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 29 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Travel etc. - Gray Line Amalfi Coast
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Skip the line Pompeii Guided Tour from Sorrento?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Skip the line Pompeii Guided Tour from Sorrento.
What is the policy on sanitization during Skip the line Pompeii Guided Tour from Sorrento?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Skip the line Pompeii Guided Tour from Sorrento.
What is the social distancing policy during Skip the line Pompeii Guided Tour from Sorrento?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Skip the line Pompeii Guided Tour from Sorrento.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Skip the line Pompeii Guided Tour from Sorrento?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Skip the line Pompeii Guided Tour from Sorrento.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "Yes, it gave us time to take photos and slower pace in August is welcome, but we could have seen more!" See review


42 Reviews
2 stars

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews
Don't do the half-day tour
, Oct 2021
I usually am quick to give a 5 star review, and I've tried to be fair here: The tour inaccurately posted here that this entire tour takes 4 hours. It doesn't (at least 5.5 for a 2hr tour of Pompeii), and the operator required my wife and I to pay for a private driver to get back to Sorrento in time to make our pre-booked trains which we had to make. The tour arranged for the driver, but made us pay for it (we were desperate, so we couldn't exactly refuse). I missed a large part of the tour on the phone with the tour operator, ruining at least half of the tour. I note that they've since changed the timing on this, but as you can see from my screenshot (taken during the morning of the tour), they clearly said it would be 4 hrs. I take their change of timing as an admission that they realized what they stated was inaccurate, though they should have taken responsibility at the time. I do want to say that our guides, Pasquale and Vincenzo, were professional and helpful. Vincenzo, who did our tour of Pompeii, was extremely knowledgeable. I just wish I could have pair attention the whole time instead of dealing with the back office. More broadly, I think you would want most tour operators to have the tourist's back. This one didn't. This is the second bad experience I had with Gray Line in Italy (the other one a Tuscany tour where the guide made no effort to enforce any covid requirements on a bus of about 50 people), so I'll be avoiding them in the future.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Nic_W, we are very sorry to read your complaint since we did the best possible to let you live your experience in Pompeii without troubles. The total lenght of the tour is 4 hours, but as explained over the phone, being a group tour (so not private and customizable according to your necessities) and being a "particular" year as well, it's necessary to be flexible, the timing can change due to several factors: 1) traffic or unexpected along the way 2) body scanner to enter the archaeological site 3) coffe break or toilette stop 4) Green Pass verification We knew that you had to return in Sorrento exactly 4 hours later the scheduled departure time, once arrived in Pompeii and entering to the ruins; we met in the morning and nothing has been said, we sent a message as a friendly reminder the day before the tour and neither in that case you advised us that you had a specif necessity to fit your travel plans (you should have advised us in time, so you wouldn't skip any explanation of the guide... even if our conversation lasted very few minutes !) so... we did our best to let you return in Sorrento whitout the group (since their eparture from Pompeii would have been later) offering several options: 1) send a driver FOR FREE to pick up your luggage in Sorrento, pick you up in Pompeii and drop you off in Naples... but you refused since you didn't packed yet... 2) catch a train at the end of the tour to return straight to Sorrento in time 3) Arrange a private transfer to pick you up in Pompeii and drop you off in Sorrento and make the visit to Pompeii as fast as possible in oder to follow your programme. You chose the third option, which, by the way, was the hardest to arrange beacuse all our drivers were busy and we had to change all our plans and offer this service at the best rate possible (you can compare the price you paid with any taxi fare or private transfer with personal driver in a couple of click on internet) to let you arrive at your hotel in time. As explained, this has been arranged only for your party since the transfer from Pompei to Sorrento (as return of the tour to Pompeii) was scheduled at around 1:00 pm (after the walking tour, we cannot catapult people into the bus, whitout giving them the time to relax, sip a coffe or simplier use the toilette!)... you could have refused this service and simplier return without rushing in town.... We just did our job in the best way possible to fulfilling your needs whitout causing troubles to your travel plans. We had to put 1 hour extra on the tour just beacuse we increased a little bit the time to enter the ruins...every feedback matters and helps us to make better but it's not all about one person ! We remain at your complete diposal if you need any further clarifications. Kindest regards, Graziana
Not to be missed!
, Sep 2021
What a fantastic tour! The guide was extremely knowledgeable and engaging. The bus to Pompeii was very comfortable as well. Highly recommend!
1 traveler found this review helpful
See above
, Jul 2021
Carmela was a great guide who gave a lot of information already during the bus tour about the surroundings, economy of the area etc. very interesting! In Pompei she gave tge best posdible tour considering time and Corona.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
dear Claudia, thank you very much for sharing your feedback! Regards, Graziana
Happy trip
, Aug 2020
Great tour guide and driver. Had a lovely time in Pompeii. Then we a trip to Vesuvius . amazing views from mt Vesuvius. A very happy day
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Dear Paul Paul_S, thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us ! You made us happy ! Sharing happiness, love for our land, experiences and culture is our main goal ! Hope to welcome you soon on board ! Best regards, Graziana
, Nov 2019
There is so much to see in Pompeii and this was the perfect way to do it in a limited amount of time. Sasa, our tour guide, was so much fun and knowledgeable. The hotel pickup was a nice feature though the entire tour was a little longer than advertised which isn't an issue as long as you know to account for it. Great option for Pompeii!
1 traveler found this review helpful
, Oct 2019
Danielle was a great tour guide, very knowledgeable and personable, well organised tour, highly recommend!
Great experience
, Oct 2019
This is a great tour if you only want to spend a short time at Pompeii, our guide made sure we saw as much of the best of Pompeii and he was very knowledgeable.
Janice C
, Sep 2019
We had a wonderful small group tour of the ruins of Pompeii. Our guide, Raffella was knowledgable and provided insights and details on the most popular locations within this historical city's ruins.
Very good, could be even better
Mila M
, Aug 2019
This is a real tour - our guide took us around various sites in Pompeii and it was very informative and educational - a must visit! What would have made it better: 1. Context - there was no intro (Where does name Pompeii come from, when it was founded, the eruption (the month is debated), how many people died, how it was discovered under ashes, current excavations, etc) although the guide was happy to answer questions. 2. Out 20 in the group 3 spoke Spanish - this should be changed. Yes, it gave us time to take photos and slower pace in August is welcome, but we could have seen more!
Great tour!
, Aug 2019
Our tour started off on an air conditioned bus. Which was wonderful given the heat that day. Our tour guide did his best to keep up the enthusiasm and keep us in the shade whenever possible. He even picked a meeting point if we got separated as it was VERY crowded.

Compare Similar Experiences

Skip the line Pompeii Guided Tour from Sorrento
Skip the line Pompeii Guided Tour from Sorrento


5 hours

Free Cancellation



8 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do