Recent Searches
Clear

Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

|
Sorrento, Italy
Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Overview

Explore the UNESCO-listed ruins of Pompeii on this half-day trip from Sorrento. Led by an expert guide, pass the remains of the Thermal Baths, Lupanare, and the Forum as you learn the unique history behind Mt. Vesuvius’ deadly eruption in AD 79. After wandering this fascinating piece of history, enjoy some free time for lunch before concluding back at your original departure point.
  • Half-day Pompeii sightseeing tour from Sorrento
  • Guided tour of Pompeii's most famous sites
  • Tour the Forum, Thermal Baths, Lupanare and more
  • Professional commentary and guide
  • Hotel pick-up and drop-off
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
Transport by shared air-conditioned van
Narration by a professional guide
Entrance ticket to Pompeii Archaeological Site (16 euros)
Headsets to hear the guide clearly
Food and drink, unless specified
Gratuities
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Porto di Sorrento , Via Marina Piccola, 35, 80067 Sorrento NA, Italy

If arriving in Sorrento by cruise we meet you on the dock in front of the restaurant RUCCIO at 9:45, our driver will show a sign with your name on it.

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity will end right where it started.Please insert your accommodation address in Sorrento (hotel, b&b, airbnb) in the "Special Requirements" section when booking, then call the local supplier the evening before your tour after 7PM to know your pick up time and if your pick up will be at your accommodation or nearby. If arriving by cruise ship, please let us know the name of your ship.
Begin your half-day trip with pickup from your hotel or cruise port in Sorrento. Meet your guide and travel to the massive archaeological site of Pompeii, where Mt. Vesuvius spewed tons of volcanic ash in AD 79, burying the prosperous city along with 20,000 of its residents.

Now a UNESCO World Heritage Site, hop out of your coach and explore the preserved ruins 2,000 years after the eruption. Follow your guide past preserve locations like the Forum, Thermal Baths, and the famous Lupanare brothel. As you go, hear the history behind the ancient city and each of the surviving locations.

Afterward, enjoy time to spend at your leisure. Purchase lunch, shop or people-watch before making the return trip back to Sorrento.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Pompeii Archaeological Park
Pick-up and drop off door to door service. Transfer from Sorrento to Pompei and from Pompei to Sorrento by new and confortable minibus, tickets in Pompei (euro 16,00 per person included), professional guide in English, French, Spanish or Italian inside the ruins, who will show you in a 2 hours walking tour the most fascinating places like the Forum, Thermal Baths, Lupanare burnt by volcanic ashes and lapilli during the eruption in 79 A.D. You have the opportunity to discover the everyday life of the Imperial age and imagine the panic of the people before the city was so disastrously buried. Departure from Pompei at around 13:30 and return around 14:00-14:30 (depending on traffic conditions you can return at 15:00); drop off where we picked you up in the morning. It's a trip not to be missed for any visitor coming into this region of Italy.
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 1 day of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Confirmation for this product will be received at time of booking, please contact local provider the day before around 19:00 to have more details about pick up point and time.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • We require a minimum of 2 participants in total every day to operate this tour. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not at least 2 participants for this tour. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Please insert your accommodation address in Sorrento (hotel, b&b, airbnb) in the "Special Requirements" section when booking, then call the local supplier the evening before your tour after 7PM to know your pick up time and if your pick up will be at your accommodation or nearby. If arriving by cruise ship, please let us know the name of your ship.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Project Napoli Service
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Many uneven areas for walking so keep in mind if you have challenges with that." See review
  • "If a really good tour of Pompeii is required, based on my other experiences in Italy, the full day private tour might well be worth the extra money." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
424 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 424 reviews
star-3
Good tour, but not great.
Kelly_G
, May 2022
Pompeii is an amazing and somber historical site. This was our second time visiting, and this time we brought friends along. The tour was good except that they no longer have the recovered artifacts displayed. Being able to view the molds of every day items, animals, and even some of the people recovered from the site really adds to the experience. Also, our guide was disappointing. While he knew much of the history and told some interesting stories, he was not respectful of his audience. He made several offensive religious and political comments which were unnecessary. He even commented that we were all probably pagan in one way or another, which we did not appreciate. He really should have stuck to just telling the story of Pompeii.
star-5
Nice visit.
Loren_J
, May 2022
The main plaza and it’s views. My wife was having stamina issues and our guide checked on us frequently yet kept the entire group connected and informed. Just wish more than 2 hours but with the number of visitors I can see why the time limit.
star-4
Tour guide was very...
vincent_s
, May 2022
Tour guide was very personable, knowledgeable and entertaining. Learned quite a bit about the event and lives of those doomed people. Wish we had a few minutes to explore on our own, otherwise a great tour.
star-2
Tour lost
Susan_G
, May 2022
Pompeii is packed with visitors, many on guided group tours. It's easy to get separated from your group, which is what happened to us about half way through the tour. We did not find the group, and walked Pompeii without a guide. If you want to get the most out of a Pompeii visit, hire a private guide rather than going with a group.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
We are sorry you got lost anyway we offer for free earphones to everybody just to avoid these situations. Best regards
star-5
Short but informative...
Dan_T
, May 2022
Short but informative trip. If you are staying in Sorrento and don't want to do a full day tour spend a half day on this tour and still get back in time for a walk about and a nice dinner
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Fascinating visit to Pompeii
Vanessa_R
, May 2022
Interesting and entertaining guide, highly recommended trip. Very informative about the whole area. Left us wanting more.
star-4
Walking along the roads...
Terence_H
, May 2022
Walking along the roads in Pompeii was fantastic. Pick up from the hotel and drop off back in Sorrento was excellent.
star-5
Amazing place brought to...
Bernadette_K
, May 2022
Amazing place brought to life by our excellent guide Maria who engaged the whole group with her entertaining and educational stories
star-3
Average tour, but worth the visit.
Jenifer_D
, May 2022
This was on my bucket list. Didn’t realise Pompeii was so vast! There is a fair bit of walking (even without visiting Vesuvius). We just did the tour of Pompeii and viewed Vesuvius from there. Tour was average. Guide was fun, but we didn’t have any details of how Pompeii was discovered etc. and no opportunity to ask questions. The last part of the museum where the plaster casts are was rushed through and no real information given. This may have been because we had to wait 20 minutes for some people to get on the minibus to begin with. Definitely take a drink, although there is a cafe and restaurant to purchase these.
star-5
Great value tour with a fantastic tour guide
Lloyd_S
, May 2022
The tour was excellent at giving us a flavour of the time. Maria our guide, was fantastic. The pick up and drop off were well organised.
star-2
Don’t go!
Jill_B
, Apr 2022
Our guide left without us. Assistant had to track her down. There were 35+ in the group. Too many! Poor audio devices. Arrival and departure unorganized and chaotic. Other Viators I took we much better with small groups
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Disappointed!
Nicola_A
, Apr 2022
We were so looking forward to seeing Pompei. I received a message the previous evening advising we would be collected from outside our hotel at 9:55am. We were waiting from 9:50 am but no coach arrived by 10:15am. I called the office only to be advised that the driver had forgotten to pick us up, much to our disappointment! The gentleman in the office was very apologetic and tried to find us another driver from Sorrento. We were offered a trip on another day but our time here was short due to attending our daughter’s wedding so we were unable to fit this trip in. Very disappointed about being forgotten. Would not book a trip in this way again or recommend.
star-4
Ancient time capsule
Deborah_N
, Apr 2022
Atmospheric and inspirational place, as you might imagine. The experience begins with the bus transfer itself along the winding coastal roads. The guide was knowledgable and went at just the right pace, frequently checking we were all still there. Even on Easter Weekend it wasn't too packed. The only queue was to pass through the ancient brothel which speaks more about us tourists than the tour. One or two areas still closed due to Covid and only one of the plaster casts on display here. The 2 minor reasons for the loss of one star was that the radio mic wasn't working perfectly as our guide had lost her clip earlier in the day and we all had a very crackly intermittent reception. Also the refreshments stalls at the meeting point are an absolute tourist trap. No prices displayed but 20€ for 2 x lemon drinks and 1x packet of crisps!!!! others of our group had similar experiences discovered too late. I feel the organisers should warn us about this and/or prices should be displayed (I suppose we could also have asked I in advance) Nothing to prevent me wholeheartedly recommending this tour.
star-5
Wonderful tour of Pompeii great guide
Peter_G
, Apr 2022
Wonderful tour. Had an excellent guide. She had entertaining stories and lots of information. Enjoyed it a lot and learned something’s too. Just the right pace and length. Got picked up at our hotel and dropped off afterwards.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Pompeii was great
Tricia_G
, Mar 2022
Pompeii was amazing, the tour guide was great. The overall tour is just way overpriced for what you get. If food or drinks were included maybe it would be worth the price paid.
star-1
Customer Service Died In Pompeii
Paul_C
, Oct 2021
I had THREE conversations with the company telling them that I had 2 friends from Rome who wanted to join me. I told the company that I would buy the tickets but they did not need the bus to Pompeii because they were going to continue home to Rome when we were done. Once we got to Pompeii, the tour guide (Francesca) was rude and very uncooperative. I ended up leaving the tour and walking alone with my friends. The only thing I got out of this tour is a round trip to Sorrento. Never again.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Sir you asked for your friends the day before and we replied that you could add them to the tour paying the price on spot. You never confirmed it. Our guide in Pompeii has to manage daily a large group and she is unable to arrange for specific cases on real time while she is working, maybe you had to confirm your request to our office the day before at least. My best regards
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Exceptional tour!
Susan_R
, Oct 2021
We were delayed in arriving because the last couple were late. Upon our arrival, there was a great deal of confusion in separating the groups by language. Once that was settled, the tour guide was excellent! He provided so much historical information as well as being very conversant about Pompeii! Fantastic tour!
star-5
Great tour and transportation.
Thomas_H
, Oct 2021
Tour very well organized, pick up slightly early, was on road very quickly, into site within 15 minutes of arrival. Our tour guide, super stylish Francesca, was funny, very knowledgeable, highly entertaining. I thought tour was perfect length to get appreciation of Pompeii. Some people might want a few more hours on site, but for us this half day trip was ideal.
star-4
Good Experience
Daniel_M
, Oct 2021
Excellent short tour of site on rainy morning. Good explanation by knowledgeable guide. Pick up and return was fast and timely
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Pompeii
Kathi_D
, Sep 2021
Great guide on a very hot and humid day. We learned a lot a d appreciated her knowledge went for a second time with friends there for first time.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento
Likely to Sell Out
Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

star-4424

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$82.67

star-442

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$100.09

star-413

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$59.29

star-519

15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$107.70

star-45

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$108.79

star-5320

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$107.70

Explore Similar Things to Do