Recent Searches
Clear

San Diego Scenic Tour

star-4.5273 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
San Diego, United States
San Diego Scenic Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

In just four hours, experience the scenic highlights of San Diego and its neighboring areas. Watch sea lions and pelicans on the beaches of La Jolla and capture fantastic views from the top of Mt Soledad. Soak up the Old World elegance of the mansions and Hotel Del on Coronado Island, and find peace in the urban oasis of Balboa Park. Wind through downtown and Old Town San Diego, learning about the city’s history along the way. Enjoy personalized attention on this small-group tour limited to just 14 people.
  • 4-hour sightseeing tour of San Diego and surrounding areas
  • See San Diego’s Little Italy, Gaslamp Quarter, Balboa Park and the Midway aircraft carrier
  • Learn about Old Town San Diego, considered the birthplace of California
  • Admire the beautiful beaches of La Jolla
  • Gaze at the historic Hotel del Coronado
  • Snacks included!
Saved to wishlist!
Bottled water
Snacks
Driver/guide
Gratuities
500 W Broadway , 500 W Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101, USA

9.30AM: In front of The Guild Hotel (500 W. Broadway, 92101) . It's at the corner of Broadway & India street. There is a US Bank right next to it

9:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Infant meals not included
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY San Diego Ride Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during San Diego Scenic Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by San Diego Scenic Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during San Diego Scenic Tour?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by San Diego Scenic Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during San Diego Scenic Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by San Diego Scenic Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during San Diego Scenic Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by San Diego Scenic Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Dont hesitate to go on this tour as it gives you an insight of the San Diego you dont expect to see." See review
  • "I would suggest using a microphone on the bus, it was difficult to hear the guide." See review
  • "Overall, it's a great day trip if you've never been to San Diego!" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
273 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 273 reviews
star-5
Great experience
John_B
, Jun 2022
Great variety of sights, driver and tour guide had great personalities. Since the tour covers so much mileage, you can’t spend too much time at any one stop, so I recommend doing this tour early on your visit to give you ideas for where to explore later.
star-1
Worst tour
Marimekala_F
, Jun 2022
Can I get my money back please. I have registered this trip for Sea lions just 1 night before tour day . The tour guide said it’s not there on the morning due to marathon for which my kids were disappointed. Did not stop at the Balbao park Garden picture as shown on the site but stopped at visitor center and gave 10 minutes to do what? No show at La Jolla beaches so what’s promised is not shown, YouTube video tour would be better than this tour, don’t waste money. If you can yes please refund back Thank you
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello, Thanks for your feedback, and I’m sorry you didn’t enjoyed the tour. The day of your tour, a 5k marathon was happening in La Jolla, and the roads were closed! There is nothing we can do about it! We took you to another place instead, and everyone was happy. Why didn’t you say anything to the tour guide while you were on the tour? You did go to Balboa Park and had the 25mins stop like it was planned. Thank you
star-4
Quick short tour
Raghuram_J
, Jun 2022
Was fantastic but very short time in each places it was more a fast paced tour Should give more time in each place
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello, thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the tour, and the tour is designed for that, to see all the highlights of San Diego in 4hours, so you can go back where you want to. The time of each stops is in the description of the tour. If you wanted more time, we also offer a All day city tour, when we spend more time at each location. Thank you
star-3
Nice Tour
Anthony_W
, Jun 2022
Roxanne was great. We had issues being at the back of the van. The seats are extra narrow and the seatbelt clicker stick in your bottom. I would recommend that children and smaller adults are directed to the back seats.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello Anthony, thanks for your feedback, and I’m sorry you didn’t fully enjoyed the tour. The seats are not extra narrow, they are just regular seats size, that you will find in any van. But I’m sorry if that was uncomfortable for you. Thank you
star-5
Overview of San Diego
sanjohnct29
, Jun 2022
Great, informative tour with opportunity to stop & explore a bit. Highlights of San Diego. Then we returned to some areas on our own.
star-5
Amazing overview Of key San Diego monuments :)
Jennifer_O
, Jun 2022
Roxane was awesome. She talked and gave us information about SD the whole time, and we stopped at some beautiful locations, including La Jolla beach, the war memorial which had a beautiful view, and Coronado island which I’ve never been before. The morning was overcast but cleared up around 11 as our tour continued. She included my personal favorites Balboa park and Old Town :) I would have loved to spend just a little bit more time at some of the locations but it was fine, as you can always return back to visit your favorites on your own which I definitely will in the future. All in all it was a nice start to my SD vacation and gave us a nice overview at key spots of the city. Roxane’s personality is awesome, she’s super nice! Thanks for the tour Roxane it was awesome :) me and my kids had fun.
star-4
This was a great overview...
Kathi_O
, Jun 2022
This was a great overview of the area. We will definitely go back to Coronado Island, Old Town, and Balboa Park. Suzanne did a great job of giving us history and fun facts and Gregory a wonderful job of driving. My only complaint is that we were told masks were required, which we wanted, then very few people wore them.
star-5
Awesome experience ❤️
jackaboy_y
, Jun 2022
So much information and sightseeing in only 4 hours. Suzanne & John were absolutely awesome. So knowledgeable. She was able to answer all of our questions about the stuff we were seeing.
star-5
Great tour
Phil_R
, Jun 2022
If you want to see the city of San Diego all in one half day, then this is the tour that you should take.
star-5
Highlights Tour of San Diego
Denise_J
, Jun 2022
This is a perfect tour that should be taken as soon as you get to your destination. It provides a glimpse into the highlights of the area visited, making it easy to lnow where you want to re-visit and spend more time. Bobbi and John in San Diego were FABULOUS!!
star-5
Great tour
Howard_M
, Jun 2022
The veterans memorial in lloyla., also the stop at Coronado. Susie did s great job. Our driver seemed new but he did good as well.
star-5
We booked this tour as we...
richard_b
, May 2022
We booked this tour as we were in San Diego for just 48 hours. The tour took us to the key sights, the guide was excellent, gave great insight to the city and development of SD. We missed the mountain/veterans memorial, but the extra time in Old Town made up for it. 12 people on the mini bus, so very personal. If you only have a short time in San Diego, do this tour.
star-5
We saw some beautiful...
Philip_J
, May 2022
We saw some beautiful areas & each stop was just the right length. Our guide was excellent, providing a lot of information
star-5
The best 4hours well spent.
Lisa_H
, May 2022
It was an amazing trip and we learned a lot about San Diego. I would recommend it to my family and friends.
star-5
Our guide Linda was great...
Michael_M
, May 2022
Our guide Linda was great very knowledgeable and told us so much about the history of San Diego. Would definitely recommend this trip to anyone that wants to see and learn about San Diego in just a few hrs.
star-3
Great Tour, Cramped Transportation
Devarda_J
, May 2022
First of all this is a great tour and it covered all the major sites that my husband and I wanted to see. The tour guide, Linda was very welcoming and friendly throughout the tour with all of the people on the tour. The absolute worst part of the tour (which cost $85 per person, so we paid $170) was the mode of transportation. The van had 9 available seats no including the driver and the guide. There were 3 people who had to climb to the back of the van for their seats and it was very tight for them to pass by. We had the seats in front of the back seat and it was close quarters for us entering the van, existing and then re-entering upon each of the tour stops. The 2 steps getting off the van were narrow and some people found it easier to step exit the van going down the 2 steps to the curb backwards. As for me, like I said the van steps were narrow and one time I nearly fell exiting the van had it not been for my husband catching me and intercepting my fall. Again, the tour itself was great but a larger vehicle was needed.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello and thank you for your feedback. I’m so sorry you didn’t fully enjoyed the tour, and you found the van a little too small. It’s a regular van, with regular seats and regular steps to get in and out. I’m so sorry but any van will have that exact same size. And the van actually does have a high roof so people don’t have to bend to get in or out, and we chose it that way to make it easier for our guests. As customer service is very important to us, please let me know if there is anything I can do, to make your experience better. Thank you
star-5
Great tour
Susan_B
, May 2022
My husband and I decided to do this tour so we could see the many sites of San Diego. Little did we know that Linda would provide us with fun facts, history behind a lot of the places and she did it all with great enthusiasm. She was friendly, professional and answered many questions that we had. The driver Bradly was great, he chimed in from time to time with great stories as did Linda. I am so glad that we went on the tour and would highly recommend it to others. Thank you!!
star-5
Good tour of San Diego
Kenneth_S
, May 2022
La Jolla, Coronado Island, and Balboa Park. Linda was a great tour guide and did everything to make the trip enjoyable.
star-3
Average tour
Courtney_L
, May 2022
Our tour guide and driver were great; however, the tour seemed hurried, as evidence by Gaslamp stop was missed/omitted. Also, need to consider age of tourist. One couple struggled a bit due to extended walk to get to bus at one of the stops.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Courtney, thanks for your review, and I’m sorry you didn’t fully enjoyed the tour. Unfortunately since Covid the Gaslamp is closed to cars, and we can’t drive through. Sometimes it’s open and then we can drive, but most of the time it’s not. And per the description of the tour, we drive through it but we don’t stop. I’m sorry some people struggle to walk, but it’s well mentioned that there is walking in this tour. Thank you
star-5
Great way to see the city neighborhoods and decide where to spend more time
MaryK_W
, May 2022
Linda & Bradly did a great job with information about the city along with their personal favorites and insights.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
San Diego Scenic Tour
Likely to Sell Out
San Diego Scenic Tour

star-4.5273

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.00

star-00

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$89.00

star-543

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$159.00

star-5121

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.94

star-598

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$169.00

star-577

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-4.51097

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$46.00

star-544

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$211.00

star-553

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$89.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations