Recent Searches

Civil Rights / Sacred Ground Tour of Montgomery

star-4.538 Reviews
Montgomery, United States
Civil Rights / Sacred Ground Tour of Montgomery

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

icon2 to 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 6 more


Without a guided tour of Montgomery, you might miss out on some of the places and stories that give this historic Southern city its charm. Follow your guide through central Montgomery to sixteen top historic sites such as the Civil Rights Memorial Center, Freedom Riders Museum, and Equal Justice Initiative. As you walk, your guide shares Montgomery trivia and tales.
  • Montgomery city sightseeing tour
  • Great overview of Montgomery for first-time visitors
  • See 16 historic sites, including the Civil Rights Memorial Center
  • Full walking tour of the city at a great value
Saved to wishlist!
Professional interactive Drive & Guide
Live commentary on board
Live Art and Music storytelling
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Old Alabama Town (drive by only, no entrance)

Departure Point

300 Water St, Montgomery, AL 36104, USA

Travelers will meet us at Visitor Center located in downtown Montgomery, Alabama. Free parking in the rear of the building for passengers.

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Old Alabama Town (drive by only, no entrance)
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "Nevertheless, I would recommend this tour for couples, families with teens, friends, business, solo, educators, and families with all adults." See review


38 Reviews
3 stars
2 stars

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 38 reviews
Viator is a rip off
, Nov 2021
Viator sold tour without consent of tour owner AND for almost twice the price. Talked to tour owner 1) has not done business with Viator for 18+ months and 2) Viator charged 2x what she charges. Have requested a refund, but not optimistic.
No show
, Aug 2020
My guide never showed. But I was charged nonetheless. Hopefully I will be refunded. It’s likely due to COVID.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Sir, we spoke to you 3 hours before your tour and specified there were no tours. Via tour is a third-party ticketing agent and they were notified that there was no tour. I offered to refund your money through their system and you told us that you will contact them directly. So please if you’re going to leave a review tell the whole story when you don’t it’s a lie. Thank you for considering More Than Tours and for understanding there is a national international pandemic called Covid19.
My guide didn’t show up and didn’t return calls
, Mar 2020
I waited for a half an hour. I called and texted the guide, the people at the welcome center did the same. She didn’t have the decency to answer or respond . A waste of my time
icon Response from Host , Apr 2020
Thanks for your response however, your tour was cancelled the day before your arrival due to corona virus which led to minimum number of travels and bookings. We return your call three times as you refused to answer. We also notified you 24 hours before your tour via Viator and trip advisor. We apologize for the miscommunication.
Her informative story telling
, Mar 2020
Best tour guide ever and I have been all over world! Michele is a treasure of Montgomery. I would love to spend even more time with her.
, Feb 2020
We loved it! We have been living in Montgomery for almost 3 years and it was so cool to see the city in a new light and realize how much important history happened right here!
Walking through the tunnel from the waterfront with profound respect for the enslaved people and presenting the terror.
, Feb 2020
Excellent tour with Michelle. I loved her truth telling which led to deeper conversation in the group.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Wasn’t it deep! Loved spending time with y’all!❤️🌺
A must in Montgomery
, Feb 2020
We had a wonderful tour that was filled with truth, perspective and lightness. It is not an easy conversation, but a necessary one and we felt that this tour provided us time for reflection and a plethora of new information.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for touring with us! Speak truth to POWER. ❤️🌺
Wonderful experience
, Oct 2019
We had so much fun and learned so much on this tour. Michelle is awesome, you won’t be disappointed.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
❤️thanks so much!!!
, Aug 2019
Tour guide Michele was amazing. She showed us the historic and new modern sites of Montgomery. Her drive cart was hipster and she was super fun. Michele knew every story and everyone in the city. We've learned in 2 hours-tour much more than expected. I loved the birth place of Nat "King" Cole and Dr. Luther King house. She brought us to cool coffee place and we even sang some songs on the road. In brief, Michele is an angel and we had 10+ experience.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Thanks so much for sharing your tour experience with us! Until we meet again❤️
First you meet Michelle
, Jul 2019
I’m so glad we started our visit to Montgomery with Michelle’s tour. We got a overall view of the places we were going to visit...all with Michelle’s spin! It was the highlight of our trip.

Explore Similar Things to Do