Recent Searches
Clear

Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor)

|
Wailuku, United States
Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor)
51

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Go snorkeling off the coast of Maui on this boat tour on board 'the Malolo,' a 55-foot (17-meter) power catamaran. Cruise to one of two snorkeling sites—either Molokini Crater or Coral Gardens—where you can swim along the reef system to watch for colorful fish and other marine life. The location is selected by the captain depending on the daily conditions. If you're lucky, you may spot turtles or whales, too. Equipment and instructions are provided by the crew. Lunch (hot dog and soda) by selecting the upgrade option when booking.
  • Maui snorkeling tour
  • Travel by catamaran to either Molokini Crater or Coral Gardens
  • Look for fish and other Hawaiian marine life along the reef
  • Optional lunch available for purchase when booking
Saved to wishlist!
Professional, safety-oriented captain and crew
Transport on a 55-foot power catamaran
Top-of-the-line snorkel equipment
Flotation devices
Lunch (unless lunch option is selected when booking)
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Gratuities
DVD (available to purchase)
Wetsuit and underwater camera (available for rent)
Hotel pickup and drop-off NOT INCLUDED OR OFFERED

Departure Point

300 Maalaea Rd, Wailuku, HI 96793, USA

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in most weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Vegetarian & Gluten-Free option is available; please advise at time of booking if required.
  • A 48-hour notice is required for cancellation or reschedule.
  • Mandatory Check-in 30 minutes prior to departure.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Minimum drinking age: 21 years old.
  • Bring cash if you'd like to tip the crew!
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • All Snorkel Spots Are Determined Daily Weather Permitting. Please Understand and Respect Captain’s Decision on Snorkel Locations – In Your Best Interest.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 55 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Malolo Charters

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor).
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor).
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 55 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor).
Q:
Is there public parking near the departure point for the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini?
A:
There are two parking lots nearby: the Ocean Center (complimentary) and Harbor Parking (fee)
Mar 2021
Q:
How long is the boat ride to Molokini on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:
The boat ride is approximately 45 mins to 1 hour in each direction.
Mar 2021
Q:
How much time do we spend snorkeling during the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini?
A:
On average, we spend approximately 1-1.5 hours snorkeling.
Mar 2021
Q:
Are there restrooms on board for the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:
Yes - there are two restrooms on board for your convenience.
Mar 2021
Q:
What should I bring with me on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:
We recommend bringing sunscreen, swimwear, sunglasses, a towel, a camera, and cash/credit card for any additional purchases.
Mar 2021
Q:
Is there a Vegetarian/Vegan option for lunch on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini?
A:
Yes, but we must know in advance. Feel free to let us know of any dietary restrictions in the "Special Requirements" box at checkout.
Mar 2021
Q:
Can I bring my own food/drink on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:
Yes, you may bring your own food and drink, however outside alcohol is not permitted.
Mar 2021

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "If you are not comfortable snorkeling on your own, this is the trip for you." See review
  • "To go to Hawaii and waste a day with subpar snorkeling is not ideal." See review
  • "If you're ok with just taking a boat ride out for 45 minutes, seeing a little bit of coral and a few fish, and then hopping back on the boat you'll love it." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
154 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 154 reviews
star-5
Relaxing and feel good vibes
Angelina_S
, Aug 2021
Lunch provided after snorkeling was a great addition. I was hungry and my mouth felt dry from the salt water so I was super thankful for the hotdog and chips!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
First timers
ron_m
, Jul 2021
My kids had a great time learning wave etiquette and catching as many waves as they could during the scheduled lesson. I wish I would have known that Kalama park, where they do the lessons is not deep at all. Pretty shallow, even far away from shore, my other son could’ve tried to learn since he’s not a swimmer. But my kids had a great time and feel more confident trying to catch their own waves. Thanks again Maui wave riders!!!
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Disappointed
Pete_J
, Jul 2021
While I understand the primary goal of your company is safety first and ocean conditions are unpredictable, the alternative that we experienced was being taken to a place where we could have driven to ourselves. I suggest that when conditions prevent paying customers from experiencing the adventure you advertise regardless of the fine print, that you give them the option of backing out with a full refund prior to departure. Thank you for the opportunity to review.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Aloha: Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback about your cruise. Providing fun, safe boating adventures is our highest priority, and we are very sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than wonderful. On rare occasions we have to reroute trips due to weather or sea conditions. Swell and wind direction are important safety considerations, and these elements can also affect snorkeling visibility. Our captains and crew are trained to make the best decision for the safety of all passengers and crew. These decisions are rarely, if ever, are made before the vessel leaves the harbor, but are instead made when the captain leaves the harbor and can better judge the currents and swell. We still provide the same trip length and amenities, albeit at a different site. We make every effort to put our guests in the best, safest conditions possible. We strive to provide stellar customer service to all our passengers and guests. While over 90% of our reviewers rate us as excellent or very good, we appreciate and value all feedback our customers choose to provide. We love taking guests out to experience Maui's amazing ocean environment and are very sorry that we did not meet and exceed your expectations. Please give us a call or visit us again on your next visit to Maui. We’d love to get a chance to win you over. Sincerely, Christopher Kasper, General Manager
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fun snorkeling
Regan
, Jul 2021
Fun and easy snorkeling experience! Crew was friendly and offered several different mixed drinks after snorkeling.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Sounds like a great day of snorkeling Molokini aboard the Malolo! Thank you for joining us.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Snorkling.
Kaat-nuno
, Jul 2021
The trip was fun we saw a lot of cool fish and the people were nice. My only complaint was that we were supposed to go to the crater island but we ended up going to spot right off the shore of Maui. It was still a beautiful spot but a lot of people were disappointed when we didn't go to the other island. All together still a beautiful place.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback about your cruise. Providing fun, safe boating adventures is our highest priority. On rare occasions we have to reroute trips due to weather or sea conditions. Swell and wind direction are important safety considerations, and these elements can also affect snorkeling visibility. Our captains and crew are trained to make the best decision for the safety of all passengers and crew. We strive to provide stellar customer service to all our passengers and guests. While over 90% of our reviewers rate us as excellent or very good, we appreciate and value all feedback our customers choose to provide.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Memorial
Kailiegh_L
, Jul 2021
The crew was great. They were just there to help and greet you right away. Even tho we couldn’t go to the exact spot we were going to go/ we went to another great spot and the fish were very pretty .
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
The Malolo crew is the best of the best! Thank you for sharing your experience onboard the Molokini snorkeling tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Mother/daughter trip
Terri_E
, Jul 2021
My daughter and I shared this amazing experience?! So beautiful and relaxing, we didn't want it to end
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Beautiful :) Thank you for taking the time to share your experience aboard the Malolo snorkeling tour
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Awesome crew
Michele_B
, Jul 2021
The most memorable parts of the experience was the beautiful reefs we saw, and the crew aboard. They were so friendly, educational, and hospitable. We highly recommend this trip!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
The Malolo crew is the BEST! Thank you so much for recommending the Molokini snorkeling tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Afternoon snorkel does not go to the crater... ever
Susan_D
, Jul 2021
Nicest people running the boat which was a plus. We took the afternoon tour which honestly was a long sail to a tiny little bay near the highway with not much to see and you can hear the sound of trucks on the highway. They basically never go to the crater in the afternoon because of the winds which is disappointing and I feel a little misleading in the advertisement. If you're ok with just taking a boat ride out for 45 minutes, seeing a little bit of coral and a few fish, and then hopping back on the boat you'll love it. They did serve hot dogs, chips, and sodas after the snorkel. You could buy beer and a Mai Tai for $3 which was a bonus!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback about your cruise. Providing fun, safe boating adventures is our highest priority, and we are very sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than wonderful. On rare occasions we have to reroute trips due to weather or sea conditions. Swell and wind direction are important safety considerations, and these elements can also affect snorkeling visibility. Our captains and crew are trained to make the best decision for the safety of all passengers and crew.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Viator incompetent
Bill_C
, Jul 2021
The snorkeling trip was great. However, I will never utilize Viator for any travel arrangements or activities. When we arrived to check in for our activity Viator only had arranged for 11 and there were 12 family members. I even received an email from Viator confirming 12. The Snorkel company said there were was nothing that could have been done to include everyone. Fortunately 2 people from another party did no show up for the activity and all of my family members were able to attend the snorkeling activity.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you kindly for your feedback. We will look into the issues booking through Viator and are happy to hear that your family enjoyed the snorkeling tour aboard Malolo.
HelpfulHelpful

Explore Similar Things to Do