Recent Searches
Clear
Nicaragua One Day Expedition from Costa Rica

Nicaragua One Day Expedition from Costa Rica

|
Liberia, Costa Rica
Safety measures
icon9 to 12 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds
Safety measures
icon9 to 12 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Don’t worry—here are some similar options

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Safety measures
icon9 to 12 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Discover the natural beauty and heritage of Nicaragua with a full-day tour that travels round-trip from northern Costa Rica. Visit the active Masaya Volcano and the extinct Apoyo Volcano, cruise by boat to small islands on Lake Nicaragua, and view picturesque Spanish colonial architecture in Granada. You’ll benefit from border-crossing assistance and hassle-free transportation that allows you to make the most of your day.
  • Have more flexibility with a private tour
  • Hear insightful commentary from your guide
  • Includes breakfast, lunch, and Lake Nicaragua cruise
  • Optional activities available in the afternoon
Saved to wishlist!
Breakfast
Lunch
Transportation In Costa Rica
Transport in Nicaragua
Bilingual guide
All taxes, fees and border charges
monkeys watching in the jungle
shopping
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Horse Carriage
Tips
Covid test (mandatory)
*Connections if you are not staying in Liberia city
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Santa Rosa Plaza Shopping Mall , JHG4+96J, 1, El Sitio, Guanacaste Province, Liberia, Costa Rica

Santa Rosa mall is located in the main intersection of Liberia Highway, any bus to Liberia can drop you off there, meeting point is next to BAC (bank).

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity will end right where it started.for your convenience the meeting point is at Plaza Santa Rosa Mall next to BAC bank, Liberia Guanacaste. at 6:00 am. If you are staying in Liberia we will pick you up at your hotel for free. We also work with connection from other cities, so we are more than glad of pick you up from your hotel anywhere for an extra cost, just let me know where are you staying to give you the extra price.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
  • A country on category B Must pay a Nicaragua Visa.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • *IMPORTANT.. The covid test is mandatory and should be (PCR)
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Clamatour
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Nicaragua One Day Expedition from Costa Rica?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Nicaragua One Day Expedition from Costa Rica.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Nicaragua One Day Expedition from Costa Rica?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Nicaragua One Day Expedition from Costa Rica.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Nicaragua One Day Expedition from Costa Rica?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Nicaragua One Day Expedition from Costa Rica.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "If you are looking to a short getaway to Nicaragua from Costa Rica while you're traveling Costa Rica, this definitely worth it." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
34 Reviews
4 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 34 reviews
star-5
If you are in the area...
Terri_C
, Apr 2022
If you are in the area you have GOT to take this tour and take it with Claudio. He was very knowledgeable, has a great sense of humor and anticipates your every need. (For example, he requested metal silverware without me asking for it, just because he observed the difficulty I was having cutting beef with plastic.) If you have a particular interest, he will accommodate you in any way he can. In my case, that was bending over backwards to help me get the photos I wanted and to help us with a small snafu at the border crossing. You will drive through an agricultural area (rice, sugar, sorghum, mango etc.) see an amazing volcano in a national park and see a lot of beautiful green, along with some wildlife. I loved getting off the beaten tourist path under the care of an accomplished and seasoned guide. We were two women traveling alone and I felt safe whether we were driving or on foot. Ever was our van driver in Nicaragua and he was friendly, drove safely and kept our belongings secure while we were out exploring. We loved everything about our day including how Claudio thinks outside of the box!
star-5
Great way to see Nicaragua as an add-on
Matthew_J
, Mar 2022
I saw warnings that the wait at the border would ruin the day. We did wait an hour on the way in. (We had the bad luck to arrive just after a big tourist bus.) There was no wait on the return. Going on a Sunday may have helped. I would still recommend this trip even with a longer wait. The guides know lots of the border agents and make the process much smoother than it would have been for me on my own. The trip has a wonderful mix of stops. I liked them all, but the guide was flexible about letting us choose what we wanted. We saw natural wonders (including looking down into an active volcano), ancient towns (including going to the top of an old church to see all of Granada), and a small chocolate museum. We had two shopping stops, but they were both combined with other visits (of a lake and for lunch), so you can decide how much time to spend shopping... the guides were no pressuring to spend any money. (I know sometimes guides collude with shopkeepers to get tourists to feel obliged to shop.) The day finished up with a boat ride through the lagoons of Lake Nicaragua.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hi Mat, Thank you so much for this review. This is very important info for future customers. I am so glad you did this full day tour. God bless you
star-5
Book this Tour!
Brett_C
, Jan 2022
I can’t say enough what an amazing tour company this is. They helped us through an emergency situation with class, dignity and professionalism. They followed up with us when we got home to make sure we were ok.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you so much for your review. God makes it possible. Hope you find well. Always in my heart
star-5
Fun for the whole family!
kmkolb
, Jan 2022
This trip was super fun! Claudio was an amazing guide and took extra care to ensure our trip was special! He went out of his way to make everything smooth at the border crossings and completely stress-free. This trip makes for a very long day, but totally worth it! Both our teenagers and our 4 year old had a good time. Amazing experience that I highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you so much for your review. So glad to know about your experience and share with future customers and friends
star-5
Nicaragua Day Tour
Bryce_O
, Dec 2021
Great tour! Had so much fun with Claudio who was knowledgeable and took us to some great places. Could also do a later start like 6am instead of 4:30am since it’s better to stay later to see the Masaya Volcano at night.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Hi Bryce, thank you for your review and advise. To do Masaya volcano at night you can leave later and pay only extra $10. Thank you to share your great experience.
star-5
If you want to see as much of Nicaragua as possible in 1 day, this is your trip
Julissa_G
, Dec 2021
I was interested in visiting Nicaragua as soon as I learned we would be in Costa Rica close to the border. I am a big fan of the road less travelled or off the beaten path. But my partner was concerned about safety and access. Frankly so was I. I was losing hope running into hurdles at border, due to COVID, no rental car, where to stay? So that is why this trip was everything!! They pick you up at your hotel and guide you through border/COVID testing and take you to 6 different places and 3 cities, 2 volcanoes. It was all amazing! Our guide Misael was so great, informative, responsible young man who loves his job and his country. Strongly recommend. Only issue might be for those who need rest because it is a long day. But if you can only be in a country for one day, wouldn’t it be worth it? :) For us it was
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Hola Julissa, muchas gracias por tan lindo comentario. Y compartir tu experiencia. Espero que tengas un buen viaje.
star-5
Great experience! Highly recommend!
DrGregory_C
, Oct 2021
The tour was informative and fun. We got to see a lot of the natural beauty of the country. The tour guides were knowledgeable. We also get to feed the monkeys. A long, but interesting day. Tip: The breakfast and lunch were delicious, but did not sit well in my stomach. You will be encouraged to change USD into their currency. It's not necessary, as everyone accepted USD and it was a bit confusing trying to figure out the exchange rate. I would decline the offer.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you so much for your review and avises sfor future visitors.
star-3
Keep your belongings on you at all times
Chantal_H
, Oct 2021
This expedition was nice. It was well thought out and the tour guide knew a lot of information. However the reason I have this expedition 3 stars is because the driver stole money out of my purse. I know this because we were told at the boarder by the tour guide that we could leave our bags on board while we were being checked at the border. I specifically bought only $100 usd on this tour. $60 of those dollars I was using to give to the tour guide for providing a service prior to the trip. The tour guide asked me for the money before we headed into the boarder patrol, I explained to him in front of everyone that I left my money on the bus and he told me to wait until We got back to give him the money. He then shut the door and the driver locked the bus. When we arrived back to the bus, I proceeded to give him the $60 and that was all that was left in my wallet. No one else had been on the bus Bc we were all told to wait outside of boarder patrol until we were all checked in. The only person who had access to the bus and knew which specific bag was mine was the bus driver. My husband asked the tour guide about it and he asked the driver but the driver played as if he didn’t know anything. Ruined the beginning of my expedition, granted it was my own fault for trusting another human being with my belongings. I knew better. I just wanted to warn people so that this wouldn’t happen to anyone else.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
My name is Marlene Rivas, I am the general manager of Clamatour. The situation that you are expressing to us is very regrettable. The guide send a report of what happened and we immediately made the pertinent investigations and I want to respond to your reviews based on the testimonies of the guide and the driver. Before arriving at the border control, each client must get off the van to stamp their passport at the immigration offices. For this reason, the guide recommends only take the passport and leave the bags in the van. The next stop a few meters away, the guide tells all clients to collect their bags as they must change of van when they cross the police patrol to switch transport in Nicaragua side. The driver always checks the unit in case someone leaves a forgotten object and returns it immediately. Very important points to mention: 1- The guide reports that you paid $ 120 from your purse in cash later put it in your bag, and upon reading your comment that was after you left your purse alone. 2- The guide reports that you discovered and reported that you did not have your purse at approximately 12:00 (at noon). 3- the driver has worked for 5 years with our company, and nothing has ever disappeared in his transport unit. On the contrary, many times clients have left cameras, telephones, glasses or hats and have always reported and returned to the original owner when possible. 4- There were several stops including shopping centers that you visited before reporting your loss. And it leaves open the possibility of misplacing something as small as a purse. 5- When consulting with another client we know that you made a public claim at the end of the tour, (7:00 pm approx.) And not at the beginning. 6- When customers book a tour to Nicaragua (another country) are always recommended to travel light, and in this way reduce the chances of losing valuable things. Anyway, we really appreciate your comment regarding a good experience on the tour, we regret the loss of the remaining $ 40 to the $ 100. That you testify to have brought. However, there is not enough evidence to accuse an excellent employee of our team and we will not be able to fulfill your expectations. Every day we continue learning from this kind of experience and we will continue working to improve the quality of the expedition and avoid any misunderstandings.
star-5
Amazing experience
Jacob
, Aug 2021
I had an absolutely amazing time on this tour. If you have an extra day in the Guanacaste/Liberia area I would definitely book a tour ( or even plan an extra day just for this tour). My tour guides were passionate about their country and show you some of the amazing experiences available in Nicaragua. The Masaya Volcano and the boat ride on Lake Nicaragua were especially memorable, and Granada was a great city to experience.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hi Jacob. Thank you for your review. It is very important for us to know about your guides. And your esperience
star-5
Great day
Ryan_W
, Feb 2020
This tour was very well done. At first we thought it was going to be bad as they didn’t pick us up due to some miscommunication at their office. After a phone call someone arrived within minutes to pick us up and drove us up to catch-up with the group. We didn’t miss anything, even with this small mishap, things happen. The volcano was amazing, the boat tour in the lake was amazing, crater lake was amazing, and the horse carriage in Granada (extra $$) was worth he small price. The guide spoke good and clear English and provided very clear directions and meeting times.
star-5
Nicaragua one day tour
Yan Y
, Oct 2019
This is an amazing tour, one full day with many places of interest. Our tour guide is very friendly and knowledgeable. If you are looking to a short getaway to Nicaragua from Costa Rica while you're traveling Costa Rica, this definitely worth it. I learned a lot of the culture and history, as well as sightseeing. I'd highly recommended.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Thank you so much for your review, there is always a chance to learn a little of every place. You are amazing

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Nicaragua One Day Expedition from Costa Rica
Nicaragua One Day Expedition from Costa Rica

star-534

9 to 12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$220.00

star-00

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$399.00

star-00

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$145.00

star-51

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$145.00

star-00

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$95.00

star-524

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$15.00

star-00

8 days

Free Cancellation

From
$1,924.22

star-4.513

45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$40.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations