Recent Searches

Full day Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall and Hotsprings

Badge of Excellence
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Full day Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall and Hotsprings
Special Offer

From $80.10

$89.00  Save $8.90

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon11 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds


Discover the natural beauty of the La Fortuna region on an action-packed full-day tour that is ideal for people who enjoy outdoors activities. Go on hikes through lush rain forest; visit a butterfly garden and Maleku Indian village; take a dip at La Fortuna waterfall; look for wildlife; and view the Arenal Volcano. Top off the day with a cocktail and a relaxing soak in a natural hot water river.
  • Includes lunch and cocktail
  • Hear insightful commentary from the guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off provided
  • Small-group tour limited to 10 people
Saved to wishlist!
National Park fees
Local guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off (In la Fortuna area)
Small-group tour (10 persons per group)
Alcoholic Beverages
Hotspring resort fee
Dinner not included

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Please contact us for have an exact pick up time in your hotel
If you have a Airbnb we need a reference point for the pick up (Restaurant o supermarket close to the place)

Departure Time

7:30 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • Operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Is there a restroom and/or place to change into swimwear for the waterfall and hot springs?
A:Yes - there are restrooms at various points along the trail, including at the entrance to the park as well as at the hot springs.
Feb 2021
What should I bring with me for the Full day visit to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall and Hotsprings?
A:We recommend that you bring swimwear, a towel, closed-toe shoes for hiking, bug repellant, and sunscreen.
Feb 2021
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Full day Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall and Hotsprings?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Full day Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall and Hotsprings.
What is the policy on sanitization during Full day Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall and Hotsprings?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Full day Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall and Hotsprings.
What is the social distancing policy during Full day Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall and Hotsprings?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Full day Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall and Hotsprings.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Full day Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall and Hotsprings?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Full day Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall and Hotsprings.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips

  • "Bring water shoes or something similar for the water fall part!!" See review
  • "The hike to the waterfall is pretty tedious but the views make it well worth it." See review


249 Reviews
1 star

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 249 reviews
worth it
, Oct 2021
Easy pick up. Lunch was enjoyable. The waterfall was spectacular. The day was just great. I didn’t want it to end. Erick was the absolute best.
Great Tour
, Sep 2021
We booked a Full Day Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall, and Hotsprings tour. We were picked up on time from the hotel and stopped at the local market to pickup fruit for a snack. The La Fortuna Waterfall is worth the hike and breathtaking. The hike was medium to hard. There are some built in steps but also hike on a natural inclined trail. Our guides were extremely patient and friendly. Lunch was delicious and having options was a nice added touch. Visiting with the indigenous people was eye opening and helped us to appreciate Costa Rica even more. The hotsprings was a nice way to end the day.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hi Bronwy, Thanks for your friendly review. Glad to hear that you had a good time and I appreciate you mentioning the Indian village. This visit gets some mixed reactions because people wonder about the authenticity of what they are presented. I'd like to use to opportunity to clear this up. The village is build as a representation of the way the Maleku Indians used to live. The clothes they are wearing are also to give an impression of what they have worn for centuries. The place is run by 100% Maleku Indians, they are proud of their heritage and happy to share about their history and culture. They also make and sell fascinating traditional masks and other very colorfull decorative items. Doing this gives them a way to make a living in a world that has changed around them. They are not employed by the eco park, its their own enterprice and they enjoy the benefits generated. As you may understand they nowadays enjoy all the technical advantages of our days. This means you can see them use a cellphone or jump on a motorbike and wearing modern clothing when their job is finished. This doesn´t make them, or what they present, less real and should not take away from the educational experience that the visitor gets offered. Kapi Kapi !
Needs Some Work But Cool Adventures
, Sep 2021
This excursion was slightly deceptive. Viator advertises that you "top off the day with a cocktail and a relaxing soak in a natural hot water river," which is not true. There was no cocktail (it was coffee) and the day finishes at a resort pool fed by a hotspring, not an actual genuine experience in a hotspring river. The excursion also advertises that beverages are included, but the transportation bus that picked us up told us they did not provide water and then proceeded to charge us throughout the day for it. Last, our transportation was over 20 minutes late picking us up and did not bother to tell us. While the reason is not their fault (a set of selfish tourists decided to eat their full breakfast), we weren't notified and, as a result, weren't able to eat a breakfast of our own. At the least, I wish they tried to tell us. These failings aside, we had a great time on the tour. Tony was one of the best guides we have had on our tour, La Fortuna is increadible, and the Volcano is one of the most picturesque places we ever visited. All in all, we did enjoy our time on this tour but felt that Viator's marketing was a bit deceptive so just know what you're getting yourself into before purchasing.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Glad you took the time to point out some things in your tour that you expected to be different and happy that you liked it as an all over experience. About the drink I can´t tell you what happened there. Normaly we serve coffee before we go to the hot springs and a Cacique (local drink) cocktail when we are in the hot springs. I can't tell you why you didn't get one because we always supply them to the guides. For the hot springs experience we have two options, depending the group and the weather conditions we can either go to the river or visit a small resort. If its rains we prefer the resort, since thats a more controlled environment. The guides don't have to pay attention to water levels or water temperature that can change due to rainfall. On your day the guide appeared to have decided that the resort was the best option. Since the description space on the viator site has its limits it is a bit hard to explain all the details, so we kept the description at Natural hot springs. I´m apologize for not meeting your expectations and for the fact that you weren't given a drink as you should have. Like I said I appreciate that you mentioned all the beautiful things you enjoyed and that you liked the overall experience.
Amazing adventure
, Aug 2021
Anthony, our tour guide, was amazing! He was very knowledgeable and kind and fun! He was also very patient with me as I struggled on the way up from the waterfall. This portion of the day is very strenuous, but worth it! It was an amazing adventure and my husband and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to see and learn about the beautiful Costa Rica land and people.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Not for the faint hearted!
, Aug 2021
I don't know what I was thinking booking this trip but yikes! I booked it and moved on to the next thing and didn't research it like I should've. That came back to bite me. I'm not an outdoors person at all, but I do workout, but HOLY MOLY. I was not ready for the amount of physical activity with this tour! We hiked 500 steps to La Fortuna Waterfall and then 500 steps back. Then we hiked up and down Arenal Volcano and then the guide threw in another hill just for the fun of it. Oof. The views were INCREDIBLE and Carlos is EXTREMELY knowledgeable...just be prepared...mentally and physically. And lunch was delicious!
Must do tour
, Jul 2021
The tour was amazing. From the moment we met with our tour guide till the moment we got dropped off at our hotel. The waterfall was an amazing experience and so was the hike to the arenal volcano. We had great food and a very informational tour. Our tour guide Eddie/Eric now sure how it’s spelled was super enthusiastic about his job made the experience one for the books. Definitely bring water shoes and sneakers.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Fun hike & learning experience on Arenal mountain
, Jul 2021
Sadly, torrential rains and thunder with lightening shortened our tour but not before we got to hike up the lava field 'mountain' for a view of Arenal Volcano. Our guides, Eric and Christian were absolutely AMAZING and full of interesting facts of Costa Rica's awe-inspiring sustainable ecosystem. I learned SO much and had a blast in the process. This tour would have been a 5-star if it werent for being rained out but we were refunded half our ticket price on the same day. Very honourable company.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Amazing experience
, Jul 2021
We had an amazing time on this tour. We were able to hike to the arenal falls, arenal volcano, and hot springs all in one day. We were also able to meet some native Costa Ricans and learn their culture as well as see wildlife along the way. Our guide was great at teaching about wildlife and plants as well as history. I was able to do this with my seven and nine year old.
Beautiful, book now!
, Jun 2021
It was a great experience allowing us to see such beautiful parts of La Fortuna Arenal. The hike to the waterfall is pretty tedious but the views make it well worth it. Bring water shoes. Lunch was good and then going to the volcano was spectacular, it’s such a beautiful area. Lastly the hot springs were the perfect way to end the day. Carlos was a very knowledgeable tour guide and made the day super fun.
Amazing day
, Jun 2021
This whole trip was loaded with fun and adventure, our tour guides Tony and Erick were absolutely amazing, knowledgeable and entertaining. I had a great day and if I was gonna go back I would repeat this tour or really any tour with Tony and Eric since they have a true passion for what they do.

Compare Similar Experiences

Full day Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall and Hotsprings
Special Offer
Full day Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna Waterfall and Hotsprings


11 hours

Free Cancellation

$89.00 $80.10


10 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



9 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



8 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do