Recent Searches
Clear

Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo

star-4.5244 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Cabezas, Puerto Rico
Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Paddle through the beautiful bioluminescent bay near Fajardo on this kayak tour. Traverse the extensive mangrove forests with your marine biologist tour guide and learn about the science behind this natural phenomenon that occurs in Laguna Grande. See the lights twinkle below the water as you paddle along and admire the beautiful coastal scenery at dusk before heading back to the starting point.
  • Kayak tour to Puerto Rico’s ‘bio bay’ at Laguna Grande
  • Learn about the natural phenomena from a marine biologist tour guide
  • Paddle through the mangrove forests and admire the coastal scenery
  • All necessary instruction and kayaking equipment are provided
Saved to wishlist!
Snacks
Professional guide
All necessary gear
Gratuities

Departure Point

Cabezas, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico

You must arrive 30 mins earlier than the tour time to find parking and to sign waiver. Location is normally very crowded. Upon arrival you must walk and look for the Pure Adventure signs and name, we will have a black and blue canopy with the company name & logo. Come prepared to get wet!!

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum age 6 years
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • For safety reasons pregnant women cannot participate. (NO exclusions)
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • No Expecting Mothers
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Pure Adventure Corp.
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "I do not recommend going with a kayak partner that cannot help row as on the way back you have to fight the current and its pitch black." See review
  • "Definitely bring water shoes and be prepared for a workout!!" See review
  • "Also if you’re afraid of the dark, take an earlier tour to at least have daylight on your way in under the trees, and then darkness on the way back." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
244 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 244 reviews
star-5
The guides were very...
Nisha_C
, Jan 2022
The guides were very patient and great! We enjoyed the kayaking and by innovatively covering each kayak with tarp helped see the bioilluminescence.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hola Nisha_C, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your excellent experience with us. Just like you said, innovating to enhance the experience of our valuable guests. Thank you for coming! Cordially, PURE ADVENTURE’S TEAM
star-4
A beautiful paddle in and out of the bay
Lucas_S
, Jan 2022
This was a fun kayak out to the bay, a look at the bioluminescence algae and the stars, and a kayak back. As others have said, it’s not worth having your camera/phone - just take it in. We had a fantastic time. We give four stars just for the overall experience compared to five stars doing the waterfall, water slide and jungle hike experience. This company did a fantastic job and the guides were great. Your experience will likely depend on luck - the phases of the moon, tide and cloud cover. But definitely worth doing once.
star-4
Both the women guides were closer to us, and they were the best! They said their names. But We can’t
Walter_M
, Jan 2022
The guides were great; we had a traffic jam/accident so I text and we still made it for for the orientation. We didn’t see bright glow like the pictures, but a faint glitter on the moon lit night. I wish the orientation would have told people not to use flash ahead of time— because I was next to someone who ignored the guides request to not use flash. My friend who came with wasn’t sure she would recommend, because she thought it was a little too hyped up about the chance to see, but it was a fun experience overall.
star-5
A pleasant tour
inseung_s
, Jan 2022
The tour was amazing. Chose 8pm tour. Even though we were the first time Kayaking, it was manageable thanks to the staffs. At the beginning we were so struggle and could not go straight, hitting the trees. It was completely dark and we were slow, way behind of the group. As soon as we felt desperate, one of the staff came and helped, cheered us. With those helps, we finally understood how to go straight and manipulate the kayak. After all, we enjoyed the trip. The staffs were great!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Magical experience- DO NOT MISS IT!
Dorothy_S
, Dec 2021
This was an incredible experience! Paddling through a mangrove channel in pitch darkness, seeing the sparkles in the water from the bioluminescence, hearing all around us the splashes of fishing bats grabbing a nighttime meal punctuated by the sounds of kayakers paddling - it was magical, otherworldly. Our guides Javier and Sandra provided excellent commentary on the night skies and constellations as well as the bioluminescence and ecosystem. The team kept us all safe and helped us navigate the channel in the darkness. We had all levels of kayakers on this trip and everyone did ok, despite a few folks getting a little stuck in the roots a few times. The team got them quickly back out into the middle of the channel and nobody capsized or anything dramatic. It was an amazing time!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Hello friend! This is an excellent review, it captures the essence of the whole adventure, we truly appreciate it. Thank you very much for joining us. Cordially Yolanda Ramos PURE ADVENTURE
star-5
Memorable once in a lifetime experience!
YuAnn_W
, Dec 2021
This tour went above and beyond my expectations. Our guides (Sandra, Natalia, and 2 others) explained instructions well prior to departing, and made sure everyone was safe and together. We got to see the bioluminescence, as well as all the stars on the clear sky! The only downside was on the way back, there was a little traffic jam with other tour companies, which we had to watch out not to bump into trees or other people's kayaks. We booked the 6pm tour and was perfect.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Hey YuAnn_W, Thank you very much for your wonderful review ;) PURE ADVENTURE TEAM
star-5
Bio Bay ! Pure Adventure was amazing !
Irma_S
, Dec 2021
This was a beautiful experience. Stars above us and glowing algae below .. magical. However , be prepared this is a work out and not for those who have never kayaked. Guides were phenomenal. Sandra was super informative, funny and great. unfortunately I don’t recall the names of her team, but everyone was perfect. It was too dark to film and so I feel like it was all a dream. Amazing experience!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Hola Irma_S, Thanks for your review. The sky these nights has been mesmerizing! We are super happy that you got to enjoy both things in one night, the sky and the glow, what a night! Thank you for coming! Yolanda Ramos PURE ADVENTURE
star-5
Great experience
Anoitnette_D
, Dec 2021
We were nervous at first to be kayaking late at night but WOW!!!!! It was such an adventure from start to finish ! We saw the sparkles 2/3 of our trip and once we got to the lagoon we had a perfect night to look at the stars. The tour guides were amazing and knowledgeable! We really enjoyed this experience and glad we made the 2 hour drive from our resort !
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Hola! Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience. We are super happy that you enjoyed this adventure so much. You're right about the starts, these nights have been pretty amazing! Thank you for coming! Cordially, Yolanda Ramos PURE ADVENTURE
star-2
Please Don’t Go If You’ve Never Kayaked Before
Shannon_S
, Nov 2021
These tours should be reserved for experienced kayakers. There were multitudes of people on this tour who had never kayaked before. Kayaking for the first time ever in pitch black conditions is not only a bad idea, but extremely unsafe. My husband and I, along with our friends, have kayaked multiple times before and were very disappointed that this tour allowed people who had never kayaked before to join. Lots of traffic in the canal in the dark while trying to dodge people who clearly did not know how to kayak were causing issues in the waterway making it a bad experience for everyone. Also, SUPER DANGEROUS despite it being less than 3 feet of water. The guides who are supposed to lead the way and alert kayakers of turns, tree branches, and underwater hazards were instead forced to help straggling first-timers keep up with the group. Companies are only out here for the money, so I guess at the end of the day, you get what you pay for.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Dear Shannon_S, Thank you sharing your feedback. I'm truly sorry the experience was not what you expected. Unfortunately, even though we strongly recommend inexperience kayakers to chose the early tour, many decide to take the later one. Our guides work really hard to assist the group through the entire experience, but keep in mind that we cannot control the organization of the other group companies. Not every night gets that busy but from time to time or during holidays it is expected to be crowded, a detail that we also cover in our webpage for the benefit of our guests. Another strong detail we mention in our webpage is the darkness, especially in the later tour. Still, many guests decide to take it thinking that it may not be that dark, but it is absolutely pitch dark. Regardless, I will share your feedback with our operations manager hoping we can avoid this from happening in the future. Cordially, Yolanda Ramos PURE ADVENTURE
star-1
Chaotic
Crystal_K
, Nov 2021
I was very much looking forward to showing my husband the bioluminescent bay which I was in awe at when I went as a kid. Unfortunately, we did not have a positive experience. This tour was so chaotic from the start. There was a brief kayaking tutorial and we were in a mad rush off. There was so much traffic due to the number of kayaks that were going through the very narrow canal and the darkness did not allow for you to clearly see where you were going. I completely understand that the later start time (8pm) means that it’ll be dark, but there should be a call out that says this time slot should be reserved for very experienced kayakers especially given that it’s already challenging due to the narrow passageways. We truly could not enjoy the bioluminescence of the bay due to the stressful nature of navigating the kayak and evading the other kayaking companies coming the other way. I truly hope the tour company takes this into consideration by downsizing groups and limiting the later slot time to experienced kayakers to avoid the chaos and make for a more enjoyable experience.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hello Crystal_K, Thank you for your feedback, it is very important for us. We are very sorry about how you felt about this adventure. We truly love sharing this experience with our guests and it is in our best interest that you have a great time in it. Thank you for our recommendations and we'd like to tell you that we had already taken that step forward to orientate our guests about this adventure in advance. In our webpage you can find 4 important recommendations/advice written down for your benefit. These include recommendations about the darkness and level of experience, crowded canals, glow fluctuations, and health/weight restrictions. We truly hope that you can give us the opportunity in the future to show you an excellent experience. To our future guests, we always always recommend to read all the information we provide about this adventure. It will help you decide which tour time to chose and it will help you to get ready for the adventure. And if you have any questions or doubts, we will be more than happy to assist you. Take in consideration the near the Holidays everything will be crowded, just like Disney Land in high season. Pure Adventure's team is here to assist you anytime, feel free to contact us anytime. Respectfully, Yolanda Ramos PURE ADVENTURE

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo
Bio Bay Kayak Tour in Fajardo

star-4.5243

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$64.67

star-4.5324

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$61.32

star-5162

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$100.35

star-419

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00

star-4.535

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$183.97

Explore Similar Things to Do