Recent Searches
Clear

Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh

star-4.5889 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon12 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

See the best of Scotland in one action-packed day on this Glencoe, Loch Ness and the Highlands tour from Edinburgh. Pass Stirling Castle on route to Kilmahog with a guide, then continue through Rannoch Moor to the soaring Highland peaks of Glen Coe. Head along the banks of Loch Linnhe to Fort William and gaze over Ben Nevis — Scotland’s highest mountain. Enjoy free time to explore Loch Ness and learn the famous legend of Nessie! Pass by Inverness, then travel through the mighty Grampian Mountains to Edinburgh.
  • Discover Glencoe, Loch Ness and the Highlands in a day—ideal for travellers short on time
  • Admire the iconic Stirling Castle and impressive Grampian Mountains as you journey through the wild landscape
  • Learn some of Scotland's rich history from your guide—ideal for history buffs
  • Enjoy free time to explore Loch Ness at your leisure
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Live commentary on board
Air-conditioned vehicle
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Attraction Tickets
521-523 Lawnmarket , 521-523 Lawnmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2PE, UK

Outside the Ensign Ewart pub

8:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 4 years old.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark the bus.
  • The castle & cruise currently need to be pre-booked.
  • Please arrive 30 minutes before your tour's departure time.
  • Digital translations in English, German, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian & Mandarin available on request.
  • Top tip - You could bring a cold packed lunch with you in order to make the most of your time at each stop - this would be particularly time-saving in the busier months!
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 53 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Timberbush Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "You can pack snacks - which I encourage - just no ‘hot food’ on the coach." See review
  • "the castle and boat ride are boring and there is extra charge for both." See review
  • "This is an interesting tour, but it makes for a VERY long day." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
889 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 889 reviews
star-5
A wonderful trip,...
Christopher_R
, Jun 2022
A wonderful trip, expertly run by our guide Paul, who was both knowledgeable and very witty. It was a pleasure to be on his bus.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm really pleased to hear that you had a brilliant time on tour with Paul and that he was really knowledgeable and witty. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon. All the best, David
star-5
Fantastic voyage
Alden_B
, Jun 2022
The trip was awesome. The tour guide was entertaining and the sites I saw were beautiful. My pictures came out great. The tour of Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle was the high point for me.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm really glad you found the trip awesome, be sure to share the pictures with us as we'd love to see them! Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon as well. All the best, David
star-4
Lovely day with informative guide
Anushka_S
, Jun 2022
Wonderful tour guide! Very informative and appreciated the little stops to break up the long journey
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! We try hard to ensure there's plenty of breaks and stops on the longer tours like the Loch Ness tour so I'm glad to hear there was plenty and it kept the journey comfortable. It's great to hear you had a wonderful guide as well and hopefully we will see you again soon! All the best, David
star-4
Very good trip. The guide...
Rakesh_C
, Jun 2022
Very good trip. The guide was very knowledgeable and had a lot of stories to share throughout the trip. Although, the tour operator could have assigned seats while booking. There are a lot of timberbush buses departing from the same place and we reached late since we were asked to stand in a wrong queue. Since all the people were already seated according to their wish eg. A family of four would be using 3 rows, 3 window and 1 aisle. And due to this reason couples like us will have to sit apart in 2 aisle seats with no fault of our own and it is embarrassing to ask people to switch seats. Luckily someone else were willing to help otherwise the trip wouldn't have went well.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm really glad to hear you enjoyed your trip and that your guide was knowledgeable and full of stories. Unfortunately, we don't offer a seat booking service. We do encourage everyone to get to the departure point as early as possible as this ensures you get the first pick of the seats. I'm glad you were still able to enjoy your tour though and hopefully we will see you again soon. All the best, David
star-1
ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE!
Alexis_T
, Jun 2022
This was an absolutely horrible experience! Please, please save yourself the time and money! The reviews and descriptions are 100% misleading. It’s essentially a 12 hour bus ride in an hot van with no air conditioning and the few stops you make you’re only given enough time for a bathroom break and quick fast food. No time to get a real lunch or explore or see anything. the mountains were pretty but it’s a quick ten minute stop. The lake was underwhelming and by the time you get there you’re exhausted and irritable from the drive. The female guide we had was sooo dry and boring. No humor or jokes or warmth of any kind. She was literally pointing out planes at the airport like it was exciting, and shared more about her lame personal stories than enlightening us with any history, jokes, or anecdotes. She might as well just read from the wikipedia page. Everyone was miserable and she did not read the room. It was obvious that the entire bus full of people were disappointed, it’s a total waste of money and tourist trap. your time is much better spent in the city or with any other activity. save your money. Please do not make the same mistake we made!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for leaving your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time on the Loch Ness tour. We do try and make it clear that the Loch Ness tour is a long day, and that Loch Ness is the star of the show, with a few wee photo stops and rest breaks on the way up to keep everybody comfortable. We also do advise everyone to bring a packed lunch, as this saves a lot of time at stops, especially during the busier season. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't keen on your driver-guide, this is not what we expect and as you can tell from our other reviews, our driver-guides are usually really well received and are full of commentary and stories. Hopefully you were still able to enjoy the scenery on your tour, but I'm sorry that the experience wasn't for you. All the best, David
star-5
Great day, great guide
Christina_S
, Jun 2022
Our guide, Michael was excellent. Had so much knowledge of the highlands and did a great job keeping all the passengers safe and entertained
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm glad you had a great time on tour with Michael and that he was full of knowledge and kept you all safe and entertained. I hope we see you on another tour soon to show you even more of the country! All the best, David
star-2
Sitting, Sitting and hours of Sitting
Cindy_W
, Jun 2022
If you like sitting on a bus all day, get 30 minutes for lunch and no dinner break, then this is the trip for you. Way too much time on the bus and the driver said there was no time to stop for pictures. Although the highlands were breathtaking, we only had a 5 minute stop. A 12 hour excursion with only a few short breaks felt like a waste of time. Plus we had to pay extra for a boat ride and we were told to hurry!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, Cindy. Thank you for leaving your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you felt the Loch Ness tour was just hours and hours of sitting. It is a long day to reach Loch Ness and cover that amount of miles whilst keeping the tour within the legal time limits for how long we can have a driver-guide working continuously. We do try and ensure there are plenty of rest and photo stops on the way to keep everyone comfortable, but we do have a schedule to stick to, so I'm sorry if you felt rushed. There definitely should have been a stop for refreshments on the way back so I will also look into that. Hopefully you were still able to enjoy the beautiful highland scenery. Best wishes, David
star-1
I am not very happy with...
Neha_C
, Jun 2022
I am not very happy with the trip. The driver didnt stop anywhere except for meals. He didnt even stop at the points which were mentioned in the package. He just wanted to reach on time.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for leaving your feedback. This doesn't sound right as we like to make sure there are plenty of stops the entire way to keep everyone, and the driver, comfortable. From time to time, we do have to shorten a stop in order to meet our optional extras at the right time. We will look into this and thank you for your feedback. Best wishes, David
star-5
Money well spent, learned a LOT
emmanuel_g
, Jun 2022
Delightful tour, Martin kept us well entertained with all the stories and history facts about Scotland, didn't feel the 12hrs trip, he knows his deal and is the best in it. Only negative thing about it is the other participants, with 1 being late the whole bus gets late.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! We really try to offer as much on tour as possible so it's brilliant to hear that you feel it was money really well spent! I'm glad Martin was a great driver-guide and kept you entertained with all his stories! I'm sorry to hear that there was a slight delay due to waiting for another passenger. We do encourage our passengers to arrive early for check-in, and in most circumstances, if a driver-guide decides to wait for late passengers, it won't be for too long. Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon! Best wishes, David
star-5
Martins trip
Uma_m
, Jun 2022
Scenic beauty and well explained tour . Well arranged for convenience and cover all major tourist attractions enroute.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! We like to think our tours are a really convenient way to see some of Scotland's best sights, so I'm glad this was your experience! Hopefully we will see you on another tour in the future. Best wishes, David
star-5
Most beautiful day trip in Highland
Yaqin_L
, May 2022
Our guide is super nice and funny. My friend and I sit in the first line so the scenery is so beautiful. We saw the highland cows and sheep they are so cute!!! Definitely recommend the trip to all.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! A tour is always that wee bit better when you get to see the highland cows, I hope you got some great photos of them! I'm happy to hear you had a great time on the tour with your driver-guide and that they were super nice and funny. Hopefully we will see you on another tour one day to show you even more of Scotland. All the best, David
star-1
Not a good tour with this company
Lidia_B
, May 2022
The guide was quite rude when we asked him questions. The scottish accent is quite strong and many times difficult to understand, if you work in public sector being the guide of many international people, at least you can be nice and understanding. He said he has explained 3 times that there was a problem, and still I did not know what happened and I asked around and many people of my bus didnt either. He made very nonsense stops. Besides I paid for seeing the castle that was planned inside the visit and because of the problem we could not visit. We didnt like the tour at all.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for leaving your review. This isn't what we'd expect from our driver-guides at all. If you would be able to give us more details by emailing our complaints line that would be great. Kind regards, David
star-5
A relaxing trip through the beautiful Highlands!
SandraE_T
, May 2022
The beauty of the Highlands..Gary our tour guide was very informative and the history was interesting. Long day...bring snacks!!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! Great suggestion to bring snacks, they can definitely keep you going on our longer tours like the Loch Ness! I'm glad you enjoyed having Gary as your driver-guide on tour and that he was very informative! Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon to show you more of Scotland. Best wishes, David
star-4
Nice tour guide, pleasant experience
ReinaTszKiu_L
, May 2022
Glencoe is beautiful. Luckily it stops raining when we get on the cruise on Loch Ness and it is magnificent. We also got see the highland cattles as well. Expect a long ride on the bus but the stops are beautiful indeed. Tour guide and driver Gary is helpful who knows his stuff and is very funny. Overall an enjoyable experience.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! As the Scottish weather is so unpredictable, it's good that it stopped raining for you to get on the Loch Ness cruise, even though it is still beautiful in the rain! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed having Gary as your driver-guide and that he was really helpful and funny. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon! Best wishes, David
star-4
Good trip. However, the...
John_G
, May 2022
Good trip. However, the two rest stops were far too short if you want to get food and use the toilet facilities. Excellent driver/guide.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! Thank you for your feedback about the stops being too short, we will take that on board, although we do have to be careful with our timings on that tour. I'm happy to hear you had an excellent driver-guide though! Best wishes, David
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Perfect!
Rhys_A
, May 2022
Amazing time! We got to see so many sites. Perfect if you are only staying a day or so in Edinburgh!!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, Rhys. Thank you for your review! Our tours are the perfect way to see some of the best scenery that Scotland has to offer if you only have a few days to spare! Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day in the future! Best wishes, David
star-5
A Day to Remember!
Douglas_N
, May 2022
The entire trip was wonderful. Not only the sites, but the history narrative on the bus - wonderful story teller!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! It's great to hear that the whole trip was wonderful, including the sights and your driver-guide and their narrative! Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon. Best wishes, David
star-4
Overall good
Khurshed_A
, May 2022
Good trip. Enjoyed. Only downside was we didn’t get to see Ben Navis. Jammy the driver and the guide was super funny.
star-5
A must do
Steven_S
, May 2022
A must when you’re in Scotland! Although it’s a 12 hour bus trip it is worth every minute. The tour guide, Jamie, made it very interesting with all his knowledge of the Scottish history. The landscapes are spectacular!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, Steven. Thank you for your review! It is a long day, but I definitely think that the amazing scenery on that tour makes up for it! I'm glad that having Jamie as your driver-guide made it even better and that he was full of knowledge about Scottish history. Hopefully you got some great photos of the spectacular landscapes and we will see you on another tour some day! Best wishes, David
star-5
A Great Day!
Bianca_R
, May 2022
The bus ride was long, but our guide, Gary, was wonderful. He was informative and funny. The HIghlands are amazing. Glencoe is beautiful. LochNess was magical. We stopped for a quick lunch, then continuted on to LochNess, where we opted for touring the castle ruins and the 30-minute boat ride on LochNess. It was perfect. On the way back, we stopped for some whiskey ice cream. It was delicious. We really enjoyed the trip and highly recommend it.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, Bianca. Thank you for your review! The Loch Ness, Glencoe & the Highlands tour is a beautiful trip but it can be quite long, hopefully there was enough comfort breaks to keep it comfortable though. I'm glad that Gary was a wonderful driver-guide and that you found all the scenery beautiful. The add-ons of the cruise and castle are always a great idea, and that ice cream sounds fab! Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon to show you even more of Scotland! Best wishes, David

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh
Likely to Sell Out
Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh

star-4.5889

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$71.19

star-4.5534

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$56.20

star-589

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$206.06

star-4.53963

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$74.68

star-4.562

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$106.15

star-5568

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.93

star-4.5213

3 days

Free Cancellation

From
$199.82

star-4.51245

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$67.44
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations