Recent Searches
Clear

Reef and Shipwreck Snorkeling Tour in Cancun

star-4.5776 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Cancún, Mexico
Reef and Shipwreck Snorkeling Tour in Cancun

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Explore some of Cancun's most stunning underwater worlds during this shipwreck swim and snorkel tour. Paddle through tropical fish, coral reefs, shipwrecks, and giant sea turtles over the course of the day. This small-group excursion that ensures personalized attention and service and includes round-trip transportation from your Cancun hotel.
  • Reef and shipwreck snorkeling tour
  • Explore underwater worlds surrounding Cancun
  • Swim alongside tropical fish and giant sea turtles
  • Small group ensures personal service
  • Choice of morning or afternoon departure

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Snorkeling with a small group means you can visit multiple sites in a short period of time. Even hesitant swimmers or beginner snorkelers feel comfortable with personalized attention from the guides, and you get a complimentary photo of your tour to take home.
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop-off in Cancun
Use of Snorkeling equipment
Professional guide
Bottled water
Passenger Insurance
Dock Fee ($10 USD, payable at check in)
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off in Playa del Carmen and Riviera Maya may have an extra charge
$5usd deposit for locker's key (refunded when returning the key).

Departure Point

Carr. a Punta Sam 05-Mz.2, Sm.80, 77520 Cancún, Q.R., Mexico

Our marina is located 400 yards away from Ferry Ultramar main dock, and few steps away from El Meco Mayan ruins.

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Restrictions: Only children older than 6 years (accompanied by an adult). A responsive letter must be signed, in the case of children their parents must sign.
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off in Cancun is included; pickup and drop-off from hotels in Playa del Carmen and Riviera Maya may have an additional charge
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Please note that the 3.5 hour activity duration is the time from start to finish, the actual time in the water is about 2 hours
  • We suggest to bring: Swimsuit, sunglasses, biodegradable sunscreen, dry clothes, towel and cash for personal expenses.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Total Snorkel Cancun
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Reef and Shipwreck Snorkeling Tour in Cancun?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Reef and Shipwreck Snorkeling Tour in Cancun.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Reef and Shipwreck Snorkeling Tour in Cancun?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Reef and Shipwreck Snorkeling Tour in Cancun.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Reef and Shipwreck Snorkeling Tour in Cancun?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Reef and Shipwreck Snorkeling Tour in Cancun.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Reef and Shipwreck Snorkeling Tour in Cancun?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Reef and Shipwreck Snorkeling Tour in Cancun.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "They had everything you need for equipment, just bring swim suit and sunscreen." See review
  • "If you like to snorkel, this is a great excursion!" See review
  • "They also offered parasailing and wave runner rentals(when you joined one activity, you can get 10% off if you want to join other activities." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
776 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 776 reviews
star-5
Great time!
Anonymous
, Jan 2022
Wonderful experience from beginning to end. Transportation was on time and George and the rest of the crew were fantastic. If you are wondering if 2 hours of snorkeling time is enough, believe me, it is. In addition to all of the swimming, you are getting in and out of the boat several times. Everyone on the boat was ready to head back in once we had hit all of the spots. We were scheduled for our tour to begin at 9. Be sure to read your emails as they will tell what time they will pick you up from your hotel. Our pick-up time was 8:00 a.m. and we were one of the last pickups before arriving at the marina. They will only wait 5 minutes, so if you miss your pick-up time, you are out of luck. We were back at our hotel at 12:00 p.m. and we were ready for lunch! It was a great half a day excursion. I recommend going in the morning and then spending the rest of the day relaxing by the hotel pool. They do take pictures while snorkeling, which they sell at the end of the trip. We purchased a package for $60.00 which had pictures and some video. They email them to you the next day. The pictures are pretty good quality. We are planning another trip to Cancun next year and plan on bringing our adult children when we return.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hey, Thank you so much for your kind words and comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your snorkeling tour and had a good experience. We highly appreciate you recomending us to other travelers and will be ready to welcome you back on your next Cancun trip. Kind regards!
star-5
Excellent!
chad_j
, Jan 2022
Awesome trip!! Great for families with kids! Guides were nice and helpful. Saw lots of cool stuff in the water.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hello, Thanks for your review and for rating us 5/5. It helps us a lot. We are thrilled to know that we were able to give you a great snorkeling experience. We hope to see you again on your next Cancun trip. Best regards!
star-5
We had a great experience...
Hava_F
, Jan 2022
We had a great experience with Ricardo & the team! They took care of all of us, including small kids and scared adults, ensuring safety and a great time for all. They were very patient and we got lucky and saw one of the largest turtles. A fabulous experience!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hey, We appreciate your review and kind comments. We are glad to read that you and your family had a good time snorkeling and felt safe during this adventure. We look forward to welcome you again on your next Cancun trip. Best regards!
star-5
Great snorkeling, great tour
tsengkong_h
, Jan 2022
The best snorkelling tour we had. It's highly recommended. The tour guide, Rob is very entertaining and explain need to know well.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hey, We appreciate your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the tour. We will be ready to welcome you back on your next trip to Cancun. Best regards!
star-5
Amazing experience in Cancun
Maggie_H
, Jan 2022
Our tour guide Robert is amazing. He was super professional and friendly. He helped us to find the few turtles and made us safe to enjoy the snorkeling so much. Definitely recommended!!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hi, Thank you for your review and for rating us 5/5. It helps us a lot. We are glad to know that you felt safe and had fun snorkeling. It is our goal to make you enjoy this experience and are glad to know that we made it possible. We look forward to seeing you back on your next visit to Cancun. Kind regards!
star-5
Great time in the rain
Aidan_G
, Jan 2022
Bad weather but had a great time with Richard and crew anyway. Saw a sea turtle, colorful fish, a sting ray, a lobster, a star fish, and the ship wreck.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hey, Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know that you had fun and were able to enjoy your snorkeling in these conditions. We hope to see you again next time you visit Cancun. Hopefully with a better weather. Kind regards!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
have to cancel due to weather but the operator handled it well
Danian_Z
, Dec 2021
This review is not for the tour itself because our tour was cancelled after had to be postponed once. The operator handled it well - gave us early email in the morning to tell us it is postponed due to the weather and booked up for the same time the second day very quickly. Then when it was postponed again and not clear if the next day it will be viable - they cancelled it promptly and refunded to us in full right away: So we are sad we could not do it this time but will do it in the future when we come back to Cancun. So two things you might want to pay attention to - 1. They rely on email in the morning to notify postponement - so pls check email often 2. The weather can be a big factor - although it was sunny and warm - the wind still could be too high for the tour to be allowed.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Hello, Thank you for sharing your review with us. Your safety is our priority and we can't control the weather. That's why we have our bad weather warranty that allows you to reschedule the tour or get a refund. We appreciate you understanding this situation and hope to see you again soon. It's unfortunate that you couldn't go snorkeling and we will be ready to welcome you on your next trip to Cancun. Kind regards!
star-5
A great experience.
Charles_N
, Dec 2021
Great experience, a lot of fish, a sea turtle and a stingray. A quick boat ride to sites. George and the crew took care of everyone especially new snorkelers. George kept a good eye on our autistic daughter as she snorkeled. Highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Hey! It's so nice to read your kind words. Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the tour and we will make sure to pass your comments to George. We look forward to welcome you back on your next Cancun trip. Kind regards!
star-5
Good snorkeling trip
Simon_L
, Dec 2021
If you are at Cancun, this is a great day trip! Our family went and really enjoyed ourselves snorkeling with Total Snorkel Cancun. Cancun has some reefs but it is not the greatest in the world or even the best in the Caribbean. With that said, the excursion offering provided is pretty comprehensive and organized. You get to snorkel at 4 different locations. On your trip, you get a boat captain, a guide (snorkels with you) and a photographer. (Photos you have to pay extra for if you want to purchase them. We bought the photos because they are a lot more complete with pretty good image quality than what I can shot with my underwater camera.) First, you get to snorkel around a reef area where you will see lots of fishes and a few under water statues which was interesting. After that, you get to swim in an area with some grass and try to find sea turtles. We found a small sea turtle and swim with it for a long time - that was a blast! Everyone loved it. Then, we snorkeled around a small shipwreck. There were a number of snorkeling group there so the water was not as clear. Finally, you get to see an under ground hole. Overall, we loved the trip because it was simple and fun.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Hello Simon, Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to know that you liked your tour and had a good time snorkeling. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon. Best regards!
star-1
Will Never Use Viator Again
KallieKuehl
, Dec 2021
We made a reservation for this excursion a month before we arrived in Cancun. Viator sent emails and information on details of departure, which said 0900. Allegedly, according to Total Snorkel, they sent a separate email (which I never received) stating departure time was 0800. Since I never received that email from Total Snorkel, we missed the tour since we were out for pickup at 0900, not 0800. The worst part was the rude refusal to refund or rebook by Total Snorkel and Viator. Out $260 and no ability to get refund or rebook. We’ve used Viator for years. Never again based on this experience. Will just book through resort when I arrive next time. We did end up using Adventour for a snorkeling trip in Cancun, and they were amazing. Stay away from Total Snorkel and Viator
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Hi Kallie, We highly value your comments and we appreciate you sharing them with us. It's unfortunate to read that you couldn't enjoy the tour. We would like to point out that the 9am time schedule you saw was the tour starting time, not the pick up time. We give you a pick up time and we send you a confirmation through the Viator platform, as specified in their policies. The situation you describe isn't something common for us. We are always willing to reschedule your tour as long as we have availability and the weather allow us to do the tours. We highly value your business and we are open to reschedule your tour or leave it with an open date so you can go snorkeling next time. Send us an email to socialmedia@cancunrivieramaya.com. Hope you can give us another chance and see for yourself why we are highly rated. Regards.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Reef and Shipwreck Snorkeling Tour in Cancun
Reef and Shipwreck Snorkeling Tour in Cancun

star-4.5776

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$75.00

star-4.5556

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$65.00

star-4.534

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$109.00

star-54

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$59.00

star-4.521

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$139.00

star-00

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.00

star-4.597

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-55

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$115.00

star-3.54

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.00

Explore Similar Things to Do