Recent Searches

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Combo: Punting & Graduate-Guided Cambridge University & City Tour

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

See Similar Products
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

icon3 hours  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 2 more


Combine two classic Cambridge experiences into one tour—a walking tour of Cambridge University and a punting cruise along the Cam River. First, embark on a tour of the prestigious university colleges and get an insight into student life from your Cambridge University graduate guide. After admiring architectural highlights like King’s College, Trinity College, and The Senate House, hop aboard a traditional punt for a cruise. As you glide along the river banks, enjoy unbeatable views of The Backs, the picturesque parks, and colleges that line the waterfront.
  • Cambridge combo tour: Cambridge University walking tour and River Cam punting cruise
  • Enjoy a walking tour of Cambridge University, where Prince Charles, Sir Isaac Newton, and Stephen Hawking studied
  • Cruise down the Cam River on a traditional punting tour
  • Small-group tour limited ensures a personalized experience
90-minute student-guided walking tour
50-minute student-guided punting tour
Professional guides
History & anecdotes
Entry to Pembroke College and Trinity College backs (when they are open)
King's College Chapel entry

Departure Point

Cambridge Alumni Tours, Alumni Tours, Blue flag at King’s College on, King's Parade, Cambridge CB2 1SJ, UK

Return Details

Granta Moorings, 14 Newnham Rd, Cambridge CB3 9EX, UK
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Your punting tour is an open ticket so please be mindful of delays at peak times between 12:00-15:00 on the weekends.
  • To redeem your punting ticket, please meet the manager at our meeting point (blue flag) for directions.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Cambridge Alumni Tours - Pandemic Health and Safety Policy Your health is our top priority, and we have put special measures in place to keep all guests safe both during and after your activity. Stringent Cleaning - We’ve increased the frequency of disinfecting surfaces and high traffic areas between each tour, and hand sanitizer will be available to all of our guests at our starting points. Social Distancing – We have reduced maximum capacity of our tours by 50%. Guests will stay at a safe 6-foot distance during all points of our walking tour and guests will be seated further apart on our punting tours. We also ensure that all staff members will be wearing the necessary PPE and sanitise between each tour. Wellness Checks - Employees receive daily wellness checks to ensure they are healthy and symptom-free. If you or anyone in your group is experiencing symptoms, we will work directly with you to cancel or reschedule your tour. Please refer to our cancellation terms.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the maximum group size during Combo: Punting & Graduate-Guided Cambridge University & City Tour ?
This activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Combo: Punting & Graduate-Guided Cambridge University & City Tour .

Traveler Tips

  • "Provided all the skinny about all the well known Cambridge grads" See review


132 Reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 132 reviews
I would not recommend it
, Jul 2020
Punting as a part of my combo was cancelled without notice and tour was really useless. We just walked around King’s College as all tourists do without a guide
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
Dear Natalia, Thank you for leaving a review. We are very sorry your punting tour was cancelled. Unfortunately due to COVID, the council in Cambridge decided to postpone the reopening of guided punting tours to later in July and we were only notified about this a day or so before you arrived. We reached out to everyone who had booked a punting tour and offered to rebook them or issue a refund but it seems as if our message did not make it through. Due to the inconvenience, you experienced, we will refund you in full and would like to offer you a complimentary punting tour. Please send us an email or give us a call so we can rebook you at a later date of your choice. We wish you the best in your future travels! Sincerely, Cambridge Alumni Tours
Day ruined
, Mar 2020
I booked a Cambridge combo punting tour for my wife’s birthday. We had traveled from derby. Just as we left our hotel for the tour I received a message that the walk was on but the punting was cancelled. Unfortunately the punting was something my wife wanted to do for a long time. They had no reserve students to take us so we had to leave that part of the tour. The walk was very interesting but I still have not received a refund for the punting.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi Gareth, Thanks for leaving a review. We are very sorry to hear your day was ruined. Unfortunately due to the coronavirus, our punting company decided to close so we let all our customers know as soon as possible. In regard to your delayed refund, our booking system had recently gone through maintenance which interrupted the API connection between us and the Get Your Guide booking portal. Once you called us to let us know we immediately contacted Get Your Guide who then issued your refund within a few hours. In light of this situation and the inconvenience you experienced we would like to offer you and your wife a complimentary punting tour in the future. Simply send an email to when you are ready to book and we will get this confirmed for you. Sincerely, Cambridge Alumni Tours
Terrible Tour
Eugene D
, Oct 2019
This tour was all bad; Tickets were not reviewed and collected. Tour just started. Tour guide spoke quietly with no verve for Cambridge University. No inside stories, ie-this is the building where the double helix was discovered-. Guide spoke with a quiet voice obscured by the Cambridge traffic noise. NO audio aids to help hear the guide ( old common technology ) . Nothing positive about the tour. Decided to leave and take financial loss. Recommend — Don’t go
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Eugene, Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. As soon as we saw your review we called you to investigate your concern and you told us that you arrived 5 minutes late for the tour which had already started and you stayed for only 5-10 minutes before deciding to leave. When you arrived a team member escorted you to the tour group and because they wanted to get you to the group quickly for your own benefit, this resulted in them not checking your ticket. We also feel that staying for 5-10 minutes of the tour is not enough time to decide our tour is the 'worst tour possible' and we feel this is VERY unfair. Also, we do not advertise audio guides anywhere. We take our reputation seriously which you will see from our other positive reviews which are rated as excellent and very good 90% of the time. All our tour guides are given a carefully prepared script and receive full training. We wish you would have come to see the manager when you left the tour and reported your concern so we could have resolved the situation. Since speaking with you on the phone I have issued you a full refund. Best wishes, Cambridge Alumni Tours
Great tours
Phillip B
, Oct 2019
Our first student guide was Anastasia, she was witty and had a great sense of humor. The tour was detailed and entertaining. The second guide on the pudding trip was a hard worker he had just returned when he hopped on our punt then was off on another before we hit the dock. Bother great tours
Great combination tour
, Sep 2019
The grad student who conducted the tour was very friendly, patient, and knowledgeable. The punting boat ride was very relaxing and the student-captain explained all the highlights nicely.
Walking Tour Only
, Sep 2019
The walking tour was great. The Trinity College undergrad guide was knowledgeable and full of energy. Cambridge is s beautiful campus worth the visit.
Both Parts Great
, Sep 2019
We had a really pleasant day with some wonderful students. Samuel from Trinity Hall gave us a delightful walking tour of may of the colleges. We even learned that Trinity Hall and Trinity are not the same college! Had originally booked 1pm but easily switched to 11am by just showing up and requesting the change. We then had time for lunch before the 2pm punting tour which was lovely. Granted we had fantastic weather, mid 70's and sunshine so everything was enhanced but it was still great to do these tours with students.
Informative and enjoyable
, Aug 2019
Our guide (Samuel) deserves the highest praise! Intelligent and knowledgeable, he provided more information than what must have been in the 'script' and was most eager to answer all our questions. In general, it was a well-structured tour - enough time to get acquainted with the city without getting too tired or overwhelmed with detail. The punting part of the tour was pure joy - although the narration of the guide/punter was to some extent a reiteration of some of the information provided earlier by Samuel, the beauty of the surroundings was so breathtaking that no narrative was necessary and it did not hurt to hear some details again, anyway. The punter was most capable and we felt in good hands. Julia, Australia
Weekend in Cambridge
, Aug 2019
Very informative walking tour. Great guide. Provided all the skinny about all the well known Cambridge grads
Fun and Informative
, Sep 2018
The walking tour was led by an articulate, knowledegable grad student as was the peaceful punting voyage on the River Cam. Electronic "whispers" would have been very helpful. I was disappointed that the tour was not private for our party as I thought the reservation specified.

Product code: 14229P2

Explore Similar Things to Do