Recent Searches

Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour

star-4.551 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Bogotá, Colombia
Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon10 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 4 more
Good for avoiding crowds


Combine a trip out to Guatavita Lake with a visit to the Zipaquira Salt Cathedral with this full-day tour from Bogota. Round-trip transportation and admission to both attractions is included, and you'll have a little time left over to visit the town of Zipaquira before making your way back to Bogota.
  • Round-trip transportation from Bogota is included
  • Audio guides will be provided
  • All entry fees are included in the price of the tour
  • Group sizes are limited to 10 participants for a personal experience
Saved to wishlist!
Transportation Roundtrip (Spanish driver)
Audio guide (ES/EN)
Entrance Fees (Guatavita Lagoon - Salt Cathedral)
Fast track in Salt Cathedral (We recommend you to bring your own headphones with audio jack)
Time for lunch
Biosecurity Kit

Departure Point

Cl. 16 #4-3, Bogotá, Colombia

Candelaria, Calle 16 # 4-3 in front of Juan Valdez Coffee . (7 am, first point). Find a driver with a red jacket and the City Bus Logo.

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

Cra. 11a #93a-10, Bogotá, Colombia

Parque de la 93. Carrera 11a #93a-10 in front of Juan Valdez (8am, second point). Find a driver with a red jacket and the City Bus Logo.

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Wear comfortable clothes, for cold and rain and walking shoes
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Bogota City Bus
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour.
What is the policy on sanitization during Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour.
What is the social distancing policy during Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "You will do a lot of walking and hiking so you might be exhausted after a long day." See review


51 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 51 reviews
Amazing Full-Day Tour!
, Jan 2022
Wow! This tour was such a great experience! It’s a full-day tour to two great locations: one in Guatavida and the other to Zipaquíra. Both sites were amazing in their Own right. My tour guide whose name escapes me was great. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to escape the chaos of Bogota.
Long day but i'd do it again
, Dec 2021
The good: -The ride out of Bogota allows you to sit back and enjoy the rural areas. It was Sunday so we saw MANY people riding bikes(like professional bikes) up the mountain hills. - Guatavita is amazing, the views alone are worth the ride out there. -The Salt Cathedral was super dope. Beautiful place and nice gifts you can buy. -Place we ate at before going to Salt Cathedral was good food and an interesting, color place Not so good -The driver knew almost no English. Seemed like a good guy but it hurts the experience when you can't interact and you are in the van for HOURS. I'd suggest drivers interact with tourists and use the hours in the van with English speaking tourists as an opportunity to improve their English and have fun with it. -Tour at Guatavita was ALL in Spanish. Not sure if it was because it was Sunday -We left at 8AMish and got back 8PMish. (Traffic is to blame for at least some of this)
, Nov 2021
This was a wonderful day outside of the city! The guides were truly amazing. Highly recommend the hike around the crater lake and the cathedral.
Live laugh love
, Nov 2021
We departed on time- the driver and the guide were amazing. They explained the rules of getting to guatapita. I went solo to Colombia but the trip was a group tour. Everybody was doing safety precautions and the drives and guide made sure we had space in the car. Tip for travelers: bring cash on hand and be prepared to hike!! Also bring a food camera because there are some beautiful picturesque points that a phone camera won’t be able to capture
Grateful for the knowledge
, Nov 2021
Loved hearing the background and culture of indigenous folks at Guatavita! Downside was another person on the tour who was rude and disrespectful to the guide because he could not understand Spanish - not the guides fault. It is advertised that they do not have someone who speaks Spanish. Apart from this, which the company could not have controlled, everything was great! The driver was super friendly and gave lots of information about the areas we were passing by.
Excellent service
, Sep 2021
Excellent service, Colombians hearts are amazing. They treated me so well, I do not have any complain, except it said it included the food, but was not included. After that everything was perfect.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Sharlene, thank you for choosing our service in Bogotá and for your comment. We are glad because you enjoyed your visit with us, however, about your comment that the tour said it included food, it is not true. We are very clear in the information about what is included in our service and for this group version and the price that we offer it is not possible to include food, in our private tours we do offer this type of service because this increases the price a lot. We hope that you can continue enjoying our services for many activities in the city and surroundings.
Nice job Alex!
, Sep 2021
Alex was the best tour guide! Very considerate and knowledgeable. He did a great job and spoke great english. Would definitely recommend the tour!
Be aware what you sign up for
, Sep 2021
This is not a tour, it is a collective taxi ride. Driver picked us on time, but he did not speak any English and we did not have a tour guide. After 2 hours of quite a rough drive (horrible road condition) we arrived to Guatavita and learned that they did not have English speaking tour guide either. We just wondered by ourselves. It was a disappointing experience. After this "tour" driver took us to a horrible restaurant and did not give us any choice. All six people on our tour did not like the food. We felt that we have been forced into this place because most likely driver received kick back from a restaurant owner. In Salt Cathedral driver just dropped us of. We have to listen to audio guide in English that did not provided useful information. Again we have to wonder by ourselves. For the price I paid I expected better service and experience. I will not recommend this tour to anybody.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Natalia, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments. However, is important to clarify several things about the service: From before you decided to buy the tour, the information about what is included is very clear and it is explained that the driver is included in spanish and that guides or audio guides will be available inside each attraction. Although the road to get to the guatavita lagoon is not in excellent condition, it is not that bad and it is definitely something that we cannot control because it is a town. However, most tourists decide to forget this compared to the beauty of the place, the learning of our culture and the magic that lives inside. The guides available within the attraction and their languages is also something that we cannot handle because it is organized directly by the attraction, however, thinking of our clients we designed an audio guide in english so the tourists can learn from the place when they don´t find local english guides available inside the attraction. To avoid this, in our private tours we offer the tour with an english guide throughout the tour, but it is something that costs much more than what you paid. In our tours we never force any tourist to enter a specific place, the driver gives 3 options of restaurants and each client decides which one they prefer to enter and it is strange because we do not receive complaints from other clients about it. As I mentioned before, for people who want to have a unique experience, we offer a private option that includes a guide throughout the tour and many more benefits, however it can cost you 2 or 3 times more than what you paid, that's why our idea of ​​offering this group option at a very comfortable price is for people who cannot pay for a private tour but do want to know the beautiful places of our city. However, for the price you paid we offer much more than a car, taking into account that he is in charge of accompanying and taking care of them throughout the tour, you avoid making a payment line since the tickets are already included and ready to enter to the attraction, you have insurance that covers you for any eventuality during the tour, we give you 24-hour service for any concern or need you have, we comply with biosecurity measures because we are certified, be sure that the vehicles have all their documents because you buy the service with a formal company and above all, you meet other beautiful people on the tour. You don't get all this by taking only a taxi or uber to go to the places. We always comply with what we offer and describe on the platform about what the tour includes, so we recommend that you analyze this information better in the next opportunity so that you can choose the tour and experience that you are really looking for, always comparing this with the price you are paying. Best Regards
1 traveler found this review helpful
A transport service to see two sights in a day
, Sep 2021
Both sights are very enjoyable. The Cathedral is breathtaking. This is not a ‘tour’ rather it is a convenient transport service which enables you to take in both sights in a single day. The Candelaria pick up location is easy to find on the corner of Parque de Los Periodistas. There is no tour guide however. The driver drops you off at each sight and takes you to a lunch location. As mentioned, no English guide is available at Laguna de Guatavita, however an English audio guide is provided at the Salt Cathedral. There were six people plus the driver in the van on my tour and not all passengers were wearing face coverings, therefore this tour cannot be described as Covid-secure, if that is a concern for you. I am very glad I got to see the Salt Cathedral.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Chris, I hope you are well and thanks so much for choosing us during your stay in Bogotá. We really appreciate your comments and as you mentioned, this group tour that we offer is a very good option for those tourists who cannot pay or do not wish to take a private version that includes a guide throughout the tour and many other benefits, however, this It can cost 2 or 3 times what the group tour costs. We are very clear in the description of the tour about what is included and we inform that it includes a driver in spanish and guides or audio guides within each attraction but everything depends on the availability in each place. Although it is a basic and inexpensive option, we offer more than transportation since the driver accompanies you and takes care of you throughout the tour, gives you recommendations, you have daily insurance for any eventuality, 24-hour service, you can take more time in the place because our tickets already allow you to enter without a payment line, you can meet other beautiful people on the tour and we are certified in biosecurity. what you mention that we are not a safe company for covid is not like that, our company complies with many more requirements than those currently demanded in our country to protect our clients and collaborators. For this reason, the platform indicates the protocols that must be followed during the tour: before entering the vehicle the temperature is taken and entry is not allowed with more than 38 degrees or with symptoms, each person receives a biosecurity kit to constantly clean their hands, the use of face masks is required inside the vehicle all time and the capacity inside the car that we handle is less than allowed. We inform all the protocols and it is important that each tourist complies with them taking into account the regulations of each country, city and company to protect each other.
1 traveler found this review helpful
, Aug 2021
Views were amazing. The walk up a bit exhausting but when you get up there oh my! 😍Tour Guide was helpful and patient. Must do!!
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour
Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour


10 hours

Free Cancellation



7 hours

Free Cancellation

$60.00 $54.00


10 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation



2 hours 35 minutes

Free Cancellation



12 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do