Recent Searches
Clear

Walking Tour in Bergen of the Past and Present

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Bergen, Norway
Walking Tour in Bergen of the Past and Present

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Certified English-speaking Guide
Snacks
The King Håkon's Hall , Bergenhus 10, 5003 Bergen, Norway

We meet outside the entrance to Håkons Hall - by the museum entrance. It is inside the Bergen fortress and clearly marked on GPS. Note - if Google maps tells you to take a ferry across the bay to get to the meeting point, ignore it! It's wrong :)

Fishmarket in Bergen , Torget 5, 5014 Bergen, Norway

We finish close to the Bergen tourist office

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY I Love Bergen
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Walking Tour in Bergen of the Past and Present?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by Walking Tour in Bergen of the Past and Present.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Walking Tour in Bergen of the Past and Present?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Walking Tour in Bergen of the Past and Present.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Walking Tour in Bergen of the Past and Present?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Walking Tour in Bergen of the Past and Present.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
98 Reviews
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 98 reviews
star-5
Magda was really great....
David_H
, Jun 2022
Magda was really great. We enjoyed the tour very much. She was pleasant and knowledgeable. After the tour we had ice cream with her. Good day. Thanks.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hey David, Thanks so much for your kind review of Magda! She's an excellent guide and I'm glad you even went out for ice cream :) - Emma
star-5
Great Tour!
Derek_L
, Jun 2022
Our host Magda was very friendly and helpful, taking time to answer any random questions about Bergen and life here now as we thought of them. Would recommend this walking tour for anyone who wants a good insight into Bergen life.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hey Derek, Thanks so much for your kind review! I'm glad you enjoyed our guide Magda and Bergen :) - Emma
star-5
Memorable walk
Parvati_R
, Jun 2022
Very pleasant experience. Learnt a lot about the history,culture and cuisine of Bergen. The guide Magda was well informed and enthusiastic
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hey Parvati, Thanks so much for your kind review of our walking tour! I'm so glad you loved Bergen and our guide Magda :)
star-5
This Tour Shows a lot of Bergen!
Chris_L
, Jun 2022
Our tour included the Fortress, UNESCO warehouses, a walk through the narrow streets of old residential Bergen, and ended at the harbor. Our guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. She provided several good recommendations for lunch spots at the end of the tour. Well worth the time!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hey Chris, Thanks so much for your nice review! I'm glad you enjoyed the tour :) - Emm
star-2
This guide needs more training.
Charles_P
, Jun 2022
The tour guide was very nice, but was not aware that most of the group was unable to hear most of what he said. As he led the group he spoke with his back toward everyone, and spoke in a low voice. I probably got about 25% of what he said. He seemed oblivious to it. I never even got his name!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hey Charles, Thanks for your feedback. I'm so sorry to hear that you weren't able to hear him! I will relay the feedback to the guide so he can improve for next time :) I hope you enjoyed your stay in Bergen. Emma
star-5
Great tour! Highly recommend!
Lisa_G
, Jun 2022
The guide touched in a variety of topics from history to food to culture as I’d made it fun and interesting!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hey Lisa, Thanks so much for your kind review! I'm glad you enjoyed the tour :) - Emma
star-5
Both funny and informative!
Haiko_B
, Jun 2022
Very entertaining, funny and informative walking tour! It's always great to be guided by a historian :)
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hey Haiko, Thanks so much for your kind feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed Bergen and the tour :) - Emma
star-5
Great introduction to Bergen and Norwegian history
Kate_R
, Jun 2022
The overview of Bergen. Informative guide. Pleasant and welcoming. Gave lots of ideas of things to see and do around the city.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hey Kate, This is great to hear! So glad you enjoyed our tour, Emma
star-5
Excellent tour
Adrienne_S
, Jun 2022
Emma was a very knowledgeable guide and gave us a very enjoyable and informative walking tour Nit only did she explain the history but also what it’s like to live in Bergen. Highly recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hey Adrienne, Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked my walking tour :) Emma
star-5
Walked away feeling we knew Bergen, at least from a one day cruisers angle
Richard_W
, Jun 2022
Manda (spelling?) was fun and knew her stuff. Walked us through SO MANY interesting alleys, streets and neighborhoods.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hey Richard, That's great! I'm so glad she was a great guide and you enjoyed Bergen, Emma
star-5
Good overview of historic Bergen
Mark_F
, Jun 2022
Enjoyed the two hour walking tour of the older parts of Bergen. Very informative and worth the time and money.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hey Mark, Thanks for your kind review! This is great to hear :) Emma
star-5
Excellent short walk-in tour
AGNES_C
, Jun 2022
Tour guide was excellent 👌 We got got in a thunder and lightning ⚡️ shower and got soaked, but carried on. Information about Bergen was informative and interesting.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoyed rainy but beautiful Bergen :) - Emma
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Perfect tour
Gerrit_S
, May 2022
Antonio was a great guide and relaxed company. He knows everything about the city!!! We loved this tour and learned a lot of Bergen in the past and the modern city. He was willing to answer all questions. Great opportunity to learn about the city
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello, Thanks so much for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed Antonio's tour - he is an excellent guide :) Emma
star-3
Experience marred by poor weather
WeiChern_K
, May 2022
The bad weather marred our walking experience. The tour operator seems inexperienced in dealing with rainy weather. It would be good if they could provide disposal raincoats or large umbrellas. This tour is also not suitable for the older folks as it can be hard to keep up with the other younger members of the tour. The tour guide could also make an effort only to start explaining when the tour members have all arrived. In addition, if the tour operator could use a microphone, he or she would be more audible to the tour members. Finally, a better-planned walking route with some restrooms available along the way would be helpful. Thank you.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello, Thanks for your message. Firstly, let me apologise that you didn't find the tour exactly what you had expected. We will certainly take your feedback on board. Being the rainiest city in Europe, we are going to experience some rainy days :) The walk is also graded as an intermediate walk, meaning there is some up and some down hill. Since we are only a small group, we don't want to use a microphone as that disrupts the flow of our tour being a 'small group, off-the-beaten-path' tour. Lastly, for a two hour walk we don't stop for restrooms as it is not necessary, but do know places to go should there be a request :) I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in beautiful Norway and you are always welcome back to Bergen. - Emma
star-4
Rainy walk
Abigail_C
, May 2022
It was quite a rainy day but we went for it anyway. Knowing a bit of the history was interesting although it was kind of hard to hear with it raining hard. We had some reprieve from it but only for a while. I would do it again on a sunny day if ever.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hey Abigail, Thanks for your review! Yes, here in Bergen it rains 250 days a year (we are the rainiest city in Europe, after all). Despite the weather, I'm glad you enjoyed learning about Bergen's wonderful history :) Emma
star-5
I Love Bergen Walking Tour.
Garry_R
, May 2022
This was an excellent tour our guide Dane made it interesting and it was really informative. We all thoroughly enjoyed it.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hey Garry, Thanks so much for your nice review! I'm so glad you enjoyed Dane's tour - he's an excellent guide and knows so much about Norway! - Emma Vestrheim
star-5
Renato was a great tour...
Eleanor_S
, May 2022
Renato was a great tour guide, very knowledgeable about Bergen’s history. Thanks so much for the tour!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hey Eleanor, Thanks so much for your kind words! Renato is an excellent guide and I'm so glad you enjoyed his tour. - Emma
star-5
Excellent walking tour with Emma
June_S
, May 2022
Fab walking tour with Emma …. Well put together, friendly, interesting and informative …. Thanx Emma
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hey June, Thanks so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed our tour :) - Emma
star-5
Emma is great...
Anastasia_K
, Apr 2022
Emma is great knowledgeable guide. Tour is 2 hours only hence you won't get tired or bored. Recommended
star-4
Very good tour of Bergen city centre
Eleni_A
, Apr 2022
Very good tour of Bergen city centre! Learnt a lot about the history of Bergen! Our guide was very knowledgeable. We enjoyed the tour very much!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Walking Tour in Bergen of the Past and Present
Walking Tour in Bergen of the Past and Present

star-592

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$26.03

star-53

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$203.91

star-00

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$261.87

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$400.00

star-511

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$166.51

star-00

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$189.47

star-00

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$400.00

star-00

4 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$1,174.82
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations